Jim’s WebLetter for 11/10/07

Jim’s WebLetter

Hi-ya Webfriends! And a special hi-ya to new JWL readers who subscribed to this weekly WebLetter this week. I had a teacher write to tell me she likes the fact that she can read of the latest internet tools now available, so she can show her computer class the newest innovations. They “ooh and ahh” they way through the hour. Thank you for subscribing and taking the time to write.

This weekend marks Veteran’s Day here in the states. As a Vietnam era veteran, I am reminded … and not just this one time a year, but everyday of my life … that I was one of the lucky ones. I came home. I truly love this country and it bothers me when people talk it down or take it for granted. It is the reason why I believe all teens need to spend time in a less fortunate country, whether via the military or some civilian organization, to see how others live. When you come back to the states, you realize how much better we have it here and you are grateful you live here. Most who experience time ‘in-country’ come back with humbleness in their hearts. You see, this IS a great country. When I see the flag, I can’t help but feel something inside that tells me I have a right to be happy and I am also humbled by it knowing that there were many who left but didn’t come back. They fought for this country and paid the ultimate sacrifice. A great man once said, “Greater love hath no man than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” And that is why we have Veteran’s Day. We salute those who are willing to stand and defend our freedom. This weekend in my church and in churches across America, the vet will be recognized. It is an honor and privilege to stand with those who served. (Incidently, that “great man” I mentioned … his words are recorded in the book of John chapter 15 and verse 13 of the Bible.)

Along that same subject, wounded troops who are coming home from Iraq and Afghanistan are being given an opportunity to find their next career through an organization known as Hire Heros USA. This non-profit is the link to employment opportunities nationwide for disabled veterans returning home by providing placement services to wounded heroes with any level of disability as determined by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. Hire Heroes USA matches the career interests and skills of our nation’s heroes to the needs of companies who are partnering with us to fill job openings. They offer their services at no charge to veterans and employers. http://www.hireheroesusa.org/

2008 marks the year we elect a new president. If you’re like me, you are probably trying to decide who you will cast your vote for in the primary. There are a large number of candidates all stumping to get noticed. One comprehensive website that seems to be bipartisan in their data collecting is Race For The Whitehouse. This website just lists the facts. They seem to provide unbiased information about each candidate with backgrounds of each. http://www.gwu.edu/~action/P2008.html

With the expansion of broadband speeds in the US comes more video to watch. But how about the “live” stuff? No, I’m not talking about webcams shooting the traffic in downtown Manhattan, I mean college football, or concerts, auto racing … that sort of stuff. Wouldn’t it be great to have a directory showing what’s available? That’s what I thought, too. And I found Find Internet TV. http://www.findinternettv.com/

Here’s a web app you can use to send alerts your friends, club members, or organization by phone. Gone are the old days of phoning each person individually to invite them or remind them of upcoming events. Now with Phonevite you can record your message and it will make the calls for you. Phonevite makes it easy for you to communicate with many people at once, saving you time and money. Just provide your login information and brief profile and verify your phone number. http://www.phonevite.com/

<===HuMoR===>
My cousin applied for a job as an insurance salesman.
Where the form requested “prior experience,” he jotted down “Lifeguard.” Nothing else.
“We’re looking for someone who can not only sell insurance, but, who can sell himself,” said the hiring manager for the Insurance company. “How does working as a lifeguard pertain to salesmanship?”
“I could not swim,” my cousin replied.
He got the job.
(thanks, Robert)
+++++++++++++++++++++
– Little Known Diseases –
AFROPHOBIA: Fear of the return of 70’s hair styles.
DEJA FLU: The feeling that one has had this cold before.
HYPOCOINDRIA: Fear of not having correct change.
HAIRPIECE SWIMPLEX: Rash caused by wearing a toupee in a pool.
HERPES CINEPLEX: Rash caused by movie tickets priced at $9.50.
CELESTIAL SEASONINGS AFFECTIVE DISORDER: Herbal-tea addiction.
VISACARDITIS: The heart-stopping sensation brought on by exceeding your credit limit.
OREOPOROSIS: Disorder caused by too many cookies, not enough milk.
+++++++++++++++++++++
Shortly after graduating from veterinary school, I rode with my mother in the Michigan Trail Riders’ annual trek across state. Late one afternoon, I was summoned to look at a horse that had reared up and flipped over in his trailer. Fortunately the horse was not seriously injured, but some lacerations needed stitching.
As I worked, I heard my mother chatting with the perturbed owner. “Don’t worry, sir,” she said. “My daughter’s a great vet. She’ll fix your horse up just fine.”
“That’s good to hear,” said the man. “How long has she been a vet?”
“A week,” replied my mother, proudly. Then hastily she added, “But she’s been embroidering since she was eight years old.”
(thanks, Mary Ellen)
+++++++++++++++++++++
The commander of the C-141 was in a hurry to fly out of the U.S. air base in Thule, Greenland. But everything was working against him. The truck to pump the sewage from the plane was late, and then the airman pumping out the tank was taking his time. The commander berated the lowly airman, threatening to have him punished. Turning to the officer, the airman said, “I have no stripes, it’s 40 degrees below zero, I’m stationed in Thule, and I’m pumping sewage out of airplanes. Just how do you plan on punishing me?”
(thanks, James)
====================
And that’s about it for this week, WebReaders. Thanks for your time and thanks for the jokes sent in. Those I use, I always give credit (or the blame) to those who send them.

So have a great weekend … and until next, may God continue to bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

