Jim’s WebLetter for 12/15/07

Jim’s WebLetter
(Now blogged at https://jimonline.wordpress.com)

Hi-ya friends and neighbors! It’s the weekend and after a warm, wonderful week of weather on Amelia Island, it seems that it’s going to cool off and try to be more December-like for the next few days.

Today, I’m going to show you a couple of new Google Web things going on, as well as free software anyone with a new PC will want … something new from WebMD for medications, and I found a place for online games that is chocked full of ’em. So without further adieu … let’s discover the best of the Web!

To date, I’ve not reported on Wikipedia, an online encyclopedia-type service because, well, it’s written by anyone who thinks they’re an authority on any given subject. And even if, in most cases, they are correct with their facts and figures, it just seems too easy to write of something or someone and it to appear to be factual. But Wikipedia has been around for several years now and has grown to be a place for getting information. http://www.wikipedia.com

It has caught the eye of the folks at Google and now they are testing a new Web service intended to become a repository of knowledge from experts on various topics, one that could turn into a competitor to Wikipedia and other sites. Knol, which is short for knowledge, would allow people to create Web pages on any topic. It is designed to include features that permit readers to submit comments, rate pages and suggest changes. However, unlike Wikipedia, which allows anyone to edit an entry, only the author of a “knol,” would be allowed to edit. Different authors could have competing pages on the same topic. Now I just have to ask … how are you going to know what is truth and what is not, given the fact that more than one person can write about a subject and can put their own “spin” on it? The NY Times has the story …http://tinyurl.com/22arpb

I think I would rather stick with Encyclopedia Britannica. http://www.britannica.com/
Or the Library of Congress. http://www.loc.gov/

Everywhere I go on the Web, there seems to be talk about the new feature on search engine Ask.com … called AskEraser, the feature allows you to keep search queries in private. There’s just one catch. No matter how you use the AskEraser mode, Ask.com will still send all search results to Google who uses the information for it’s Adwords advertising program. So, in essence, it’s really not promoting online privacy. Read more about it at SF Gate …
http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/blogs/sfgate/detail?blogid=19&entry_id=22601

This Christmas, the single largest selling tech gadget being sold is the PC. Whether it’s a desktop or laptop, changes are you will get a new computer with trial software loaded. I don’t know about you, but I find that sort of stuff a nuisance. The term being used is “crapware”. Now a free program removes many common trial programs and offers (i.e., “free AOL for a year!”). You’ll be amazed at the list of the stuff it removes! It gets rid of the junk quickly and easily. PC Decrapifier won’t take care of everything, but it is a great place to start. http://www.pcdecrapifier.com/home

Ever used 411 to get a number only to discover there’s a cost involved? Google will look up business phone numbers. Simply call in and speak your request. 1-800-GOOG-411. The service is free. Of course, Google doesn’t stop at the basics. It will connect you to the number you request. Or, you can request more information be sent via text message. It will even send you a map showing the business’ location. http://www.google.com/goog411/index.html

When I went to the doctor for the virus I picked up a few weeks ago, I was given prescriptions for antibiotics and congestion. When I got home, I wondered if any of this stuff might have side effects. With the new feature on WebMD, I discovered what side effects were associated with them. I wanted to consider any precautions and interactions. This information helps to avoid serious complications. The site also lets visitors review medications. Of course, this site is not a substitute for your doctor’s advice … use it as a supplement, and ask your doctor about your concerns. http://www.webmd.com/drugs/index-drugs.aspx

2GrandArcade is a large collection of Flash and Shockwave games. These guys have been busy creating, collecting, rating and placing video games on their site. You’ll find games categorized by style and popularity. When it’s time for a break, click over and visit the grand arcade … http://www.2grandarcade.com/

<===HuMoR===>
Granny Adams made such beautiful pies! One day I asked her, “How do you get such beautiful pies with the crimps around the edge so even?”
“Well, it’s a family secret,” she said. “But if you promise not to tell, I’ll let you in on it.”
“Okay,” I said. “Tell me!”
“Well, first, I roll out the dough, making sure it is flat and even. Then I cut out the bottom layer and carefully put in the pie plate and make sure it is firmly against the sides of the plate.
Then I slowly pour in the filling, making sure it’s not too full.
Next, I cut out the top layer and carefully put it over the filling.
Finally, I take out my teeth and just run them around the edge of the pie crust and they make the nicest even impressions you ever did see!”
(thanks, Gary)
+++++++++++++++++++++
I was trying to mow the lawn before my husband got home from work, but our electric lawn mower refused to cooperate. It would run fine for a few seconds, then cut off, run again, cut off. Finally, I gave up and waited for my husband.
He had a good laugh when he diagnosed the problem. Instead of plugging in the mower using a three-prong adapter, I’d hooked up the cord through the Christmas-tree light blinker control.
(thanks, Jenny)
+++++++++++++++++++++
My wife asked me to help wrap Christmas presents this year, but I was watching football and declined to help. She then informed me that if I didn’t help, I’d be in big, big trouble, so I helped.
However, she didn’t tell me to put tags on them, so I think I may be in trouble anyway.
(thanks, Ralph)
+++++++++++++++++++++
My sister Darlene has the courage — but not always the skills — to tackle any home-repair project. For example, in her garage are pieces of a lawn mower she once tried to fix. So I wasn’t surprised the day my other sister, Jesse, and I found Darlene attacking her vacuum cleaner with a screwdriver. “I can’t get this thing to cooperate,” she explained. “Why don’t you drag it out to the garage and show it the lawn mower?” Jesse suggested.
(thanks, Judee)
====================
So, there you go … another week’s look in to the Web. If you know of someone who’d like to get this in their email box each week, have them stop by my website at JimOnline.com and fill out the easy form. Or they can go to the blog at jimonline.wordpress.com and sign up for the RSS feed. Thank you!

Enjoy yourself and until next weekend, may God continue to bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

