Jim’s WebLetter for 1/26/08

Jim’s WebLetter
(Now blogged at https://jimonline.wordpress.com)

Hi-ya Webfriends!

This is the weekend for the family party celebrating my son’s return from his deployment in Iraq. We have members coming from all over to converge on the house today for the wing-ding. I am proud of him as he has proven his metal and served his country in difficult times. It is the mark that my family has lived by since the Revolutionary War when our ancestors fought to provide freedom for all in America.

So I am up early this morning writing the WebLetter in an effort to show you what I came across on the Web this week. I will try to keep it brief because a lot is happening as we begin a new year. The government has begun accepting bids for airtime (frequency) being vacated by radio and television stations, the stock market may be becoming bearish, but you can’t tell by the outlook for technology growth, a lab tech in Clearwater develops a new alternative fuel source from water, and my home town living. This and more in this week’s JWL.

It’s rumored a short list that includes Google, AT&T and IBM have placed bids for the 700 MGHZ signals that are up for auction by the FCC. Nothing is confirmed, however, because it’s a silent auction. There is one block of signals that are being, well, overlooked. At stake, signals that can be used to send wireless transmissions greater distances through populated areas of the country. Here’s the latest from the NY Times … http://tinyurl.com/36nmp4

There may be some belt tightening, but leading tech analysts are saying that the money will continue to flow into better technology this year. The advantage? Processing speeds and storage are doubling every 18 months, so each generation of technology is faster, cheaper and smaller than the last. That translates into cheaper operating expenditures and improved business. http://tinyurl.com/yrvhw7

This week CNET News reported that a company who works for the CIA is developing a clearer picture for web video. Called “Motion DSP”, the software promises better photos and video quality. CNET’s story includes examples you can interact with to see the difference and what a difference it is! My question is, how soon will this be released for public use?
http://www.news.com/8301-13580_3-9856721-39.html?part=dht&tag=nl.e703

I came across CNN report from last year about a man in Clearwater, Florida who has developed a new alternative fuel source. He pours bottled water into a tank, fires up his generator and ignites the gas into a torch which is cool enough to touch and hot enough to burn through steel. Additionally, he has developed a simple converter for his car’s engine that will allow him to create the new fuel, called “Aquagen” and power his car on it. He says he gets 100 miles on just 4 ounces of water. Needless to say, Washington has shown interest, and it’s rumored an American Automobile Manufacturer is interested. Here’s the website with videos about the invention and it’s use. http://www.hytechapps.com/

Each week, I write from my home office in the town of Fernandina Beach, located on Amelia Island, Florida. We’ve lived here for years now (my wife is originally from here) and have enjoyed the small town feeling. What’s more is the fact that island life is a bit slower than mainland life. So, I decided with all the spare time I have (that’s a joke … feel free to laugh at any time), that I should create a website about the life of Fernandina. It’s effected by outside world news, sports, finance, health, and a lot more, but at the same time, living here feels different from living anywhere else. It’s Fernandina Living. The site has a lot of growing to do, but in the spirit of island living, it’s going to take it’s time. Maybe you’d like to stop by and find out what Fernandina people think about. Incidently, living in a small town with a beach on one side and docks on the other makes for viewing sensational sunrises and sunsets. http://www.fernandinaliving.com/

Here’s a bookmark worth keeping. Say you have a file you want to convert and send to a friend or keep in your email (like Gmail, for instance), “youconvertit” will give you plenty of choices to convert your file and send it for you. The service is free. You may receive an ad in your email associated with using the service, but, it’s what you expect for free. http://www.youconvertit.com/

Want to quickly create a presentation online, collaberate with a colleague and turn out a great looking project? This webapp is called Preezo. Create a presentation, access it from any computer, reuse images or content for other presentations, collaborate with others and share it. And did I mention that it’s free? I think Powerpoint has met it’s match … http://preezo.com/

<===HuMoR===>
A little girl and a little boy were at day care. The girl approaches the boy and says, “Hey Tommy, wanna play house?”
He says, “Sure! What do you want me to do?”
The girl replies, “I want you to communicate your thoughts.”
“Communicate my thoughts?” said a bewildered Tommy. “I have no idea what that means.”
The little girl smirks and says, “Perfect. You can be the husband.”
(thanks, Jeffrey)
+++++++++++++++++++++
When my brother-in-law was on leave from the Navy, he brought home a heavily tattooed friend.
We all sat down to Sunday lunch and my four-year-old nephew couldn’t take his eyes off the man’s colorful arms.
Curiosity finally got the better of him. Politely, he asked the visitor, “Didn’t your mother give you paper to write on?”
(thanks, John)
+++++++++++++++++++++
Thinking his son would enjoy seeing the reenactment of a Civil War battle, my niece’s husband took the boy, Will, to the event. But the poor child was terrified by the booming cannons. During a lull, Will’s dad finally got him calmed down. That’s when the Confederate general hollered, “Fire at Will!”
(thanks, Betty)
+++++++++++++++++++++
How many dogs does it take to change a light bulb?

Border Collie: Just one. Then I’ll replace any wiring that’s not up to code.
Rottweiler: Make me!
Lab: Oh, me, me! Pleeease let me change the light bulb! Can I? Huh? Huh?
Dachshund: You know I can’t reach that stupid lamp!
Malamute: Let the Border Collie do it. You can feed me while he’s busy.
Jack Russell Terrier: I’ll just pop it in while I’m bouncing off the walls.
Greyhound: It isn’t moving. Who cares?
Cocker Spaniel: Why change it? I can still pee on the carpet in the dark.
Mastiff: Screw it yourself! I’m not afraid of the dark…
Doberman: While it’s out, I’ll just take a nap on the couch.
Boxer: Who needs light? I can still play with my squeaky toys in the dark.
Pointer: I see it, there it is, there it is, right there!
Chihuahua: Yo quiero Taco Bulb?
Australian Shepherd: First, I’ll put all the light bulbs in a little circle…
Old English Sheep dog: Light bulb? That thing I just ate was a light bulb?
Basset Hound: Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz…
Westie: Dogs do not change light bulbs — people change light bulbs. I am not one of THEM so the question is, how long before I can expect my light again?
Poodle: I’ll just blow in the Border Collie’s ear and he’ll do it. By the time he finishes rewiring the house, my nails will be dry.
Golden Retriever: The sun is shining, the day is young, we’ve got our whole lives ahead of us, and you’re inside worrying about a stupid burned-out bulb?
(thanks, Roger)
====================
And that’s this week in a JWL nutshell. Have a great weekend and enjoy your time on the Web. It’s full of great stuff. Til next week, may God continue to bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

