Jim’s WebLetter for 2/2/08

Jim’s WebLetter
(Now blogged at https://jimonline.wordpress.com)

Hi-ya friends!

Well it’s been some week with all the kids and their kids here on the island. A great time had by everyone as we included a trip down to Disney one evening for the “Pirates & Princess Party”. What a great idea to enjoy the Magic Kingdom at night, complete with rides and a visit and photos with “Captain Jack Sparrow”. It was worth it just to watch the kids’ eyes light up when they found out that we went so they could enjoy “Disney”… all dressed up as pirates and princesses and going from place to place to find “booty” for their treasure bags. I ended up with several chains, jewels and a couple of ‘dabloons’ myself. Hey don’t laugh … the party was for everyone (even grandpas)! http://tinyurl.com/395vo3

So now it’s the weekend and everyone’s talking about the Super Bowl. Will the Patriots make it a perfect season or will the Giants put an end to the dynasty? Frankly, since my team isn’t playing, I really don’t care. But one thing’s certain, somebody’s gonna win and somebody’s gonna lose. Let’s leave it at that. If you happen to be on the road during the game and will be trying to find a radio station broadcasting the game … try using http://followthegame.com/

So what’s the lead story in this week’s tech world? How about Microsoft’s offer of $44.6 billion for Yahoo! … that, in essence would level the playing field with Google, wouldn’t it? Well, it’s too close to call right now. I can tell you this … the announcement sent Yahoo! stocks up more than $9 a share Friday pushing the cost of stock in after hours trading to $28.50. Google, fell some $48 a share after a report that said their 4th quarter earnings estimate missed. Things could get interesting. http://tinyurl.com/2rz52l

2008 has been deemed the year of the marriage between consumer electronics devices and broadband content. Everyone from Sling Media to Apple have released and are releasing gadgets that hook a PC to the TV. Following the Consumer Electronics Show held last month, the tech market is swinging the door open for everyone to get connected. Tech News World has a detailed story of what we’re soon to see. http://www.technewsworld.com/rsstory/61467.html

And let the internet be your answer to the slumping housing market. More and more people are discovering that “house swapping” is the way to sell your house and buy into the area they want to live. The term is not new … vacationing in a house while someone uses your house for their own time away … but now home owners are selling their homes to other owners who “swap” locations. Several sites have come up offering listings … among them is goswap.orghttp://goswap.org/

So, which of these statements is true: Flipflops made in China and sold in Walmart could cause chemical burns, Starbucks refused sending coffee to G.I.’s serving in Iraq because it didn’t support the war, or the “Life is Beautiful” virus will destroy your computer. I can’t tell you the number of times I get emails from people who pass along false statements without bothering to check them out. That’s why Snopes.com
came into being. Check out the site for answers to emails telling you that the world is coming to an end if you hold down the Control key while typing the word “end”. By the way, that’s not true, either. So, of the three statements … the flipflop one is true. They were pulled off the market in September. Before making the mistake of sending something bogus by email, check with Snopes. Everyone will sleep better at night.

<===HuMoR===>
My wife and I were browsing in a crafts store when I noticed a display of country-style musical instruments. After looking over the flutes, dulcimers and recorders, I picked up a shiny, one-stringed instrument I took to be a mouth harp. I put it to my lips and, much to the amusement of other shoppers, twanged a few notes on it.
After watching from a distance, my wife came up and whispered in my ear, “I hate to tell you this, honey, but you’re trying to play a cheese slicer.”
(thanks, George)
+++++++++++++++++++++
Grandpa was driving with his 9 year old granddaughter and beeped the horn by mistake. She turned and looked at him for an explanation.
He said, “I did that by accident.”
She replied, “I know that, Grandpa.”
He replied, “How did you know?”
She said, “Because you didn’t say, ‘Idiot!’ afterwards.”
(thanks, Becky)
+++++++++++++++++++++
A woman had gained a few pounds. It was most noticeable to her when she squeezed into a pair of her old blue jeans. Wondering if the added weight was noticeable to everyone else, she asked her husband, “Honey, do these jeans make me look like the side of the house?”
“No, dear, not at all,” he replied, “Our house isn’t blue.”
He is almost over the cold he caught sleeping in the garage for 3 nights.
(thanks, Henry)
+++++++++++++++++++++
I knew that as I was getting older, I was finally able to admit that certain things were starting to “slip.” In an effort to prevent this memory “slippage,” I went enthusiastically to a three-hour seminar on memory improvement.
After an hour I slipped out. I had taken the same course, given by the same professor, last year.
(thanks, Adam)
====================
And thank you to all who regularly read the JWL for fun and profit. If you come across a funny you think the world should read about, don’t hesitate to send it on to me. If I use it, you get the credit (or the blame). So, have a “super” weekend (for football fans) and I’ll catch up with you next weekend. Til then, may God continue to bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

