Jim’s WebLetter for 2/9/08

Jim’s WebLetter

(Now blogged at https://jimonline.wordpress.com)

Hi-ya Webfriends! Yesterday, I enjoyed some time off and took my video camera downtown and the beach and shot some footage. It was such a nice day here on the island. I overheard a tour group who were downtown at our favorite fudge shop (Fantastic Fudge) talking about it saying, “if this is winter, I want to live here”. Yea, this week, the weather was ‘chamber of commerce’ type weather as we enjoyed temps in the 60’s and 70’s. Looks like we’re in for more of it next week, too. The result of my video efforts are on http://www.fernandinaliving.com/fernandina_town.html.

Also yesterday, I received a new download that upgraded by Firefox browser to 2.0.0.12. Seems they fixed a flaw in the last version that made it vulnerable to certain browser attacks. It’s one of the reasons why I enjoy Mozilla’s browser … they fix it and send the upgrade to you for free … and with a click, it’s installed and ready to go.
http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

Did you hear about the latest in the story of Microsoft wanting to buy Yahoo? Seems, according to the NY Times, that Yahoo’s management and bankers are thinking the company is worth more than the asking price of $44.6 billion. They are trying to come up with ideas to avoid the hostile bid by MS even to the point of a possible merge with Google. This is the sound of desperate people. And who says that Google would be interested? As a matter of fact, Google called Yahoo. MS is declining comment at this time … http://tinyurl.com/2aoqmn

In spite of the shadow being cast by Microsoft, Yahoo is still at work. After cutting a deal with leading music service Rhapsody, sending out rumors of possibly offering free mp3s, and announcing Yahoo Live, the company is still looking to improve its media offerings by releasing some upgrades on its embedded Media Player. Mashable’s Kristen Nicole wrote about the new player, “It has also been resized so that when it is first loaded, it takes up less space on the page when it’s not needed. There’s also steady scrolling, meaning the player won’t flicker while you scroll anymore. In fact, another upgrade has made the whole experience of the Yahoo Media Player more seamless–the search no longer interrupts the music playing, as related search links now open in an entirely new window”. (Mashable.com) Website owners and bloggers can now embed this player and provide access to music for anyone visiting. http://mediaplayer.yahoo.com/

Meanwhile, MS is looking into buying Ustream.tv for $50 million. Ustream.tv is one of the first wave of live streaming service providers that includes companies such as Justin.tv, Blogtv and Mogulus. Ustream.tv has offered a complete package of streaming and post show videos, and has a strong reputation as a reliable provider of live shows and events. The company announced a deal January 29 to stream the Republican convention, and has also featured other events including shows with Republican Presidential candidate Mike Huckabee and Chuck Norris. http://www.ustream.tv

A show of hands, how many of you are using Gmail? I have been using it for almost three years now and have truly enjoyed it’s features including POP mail, spam filtering, email grouping (several email addresses under one box), online chat, and steadily increasing space for more emails without having to delete them. Now, Google is never satisfied. They are always pushing to improve everything they touch. After aquiring email security service provider Postini, Google is now offering (for a small fee) additional services for it’s email system. Read about it here … http://tinyurl.com/yqdwgj

Following the Super Bowl, the ads began springing up all over the internet. One such place was Hulu, a site that the NBC and Fox television networks have created to give you the future of media delivery. Check out the ads, watch TV shows and enjoy it all for free. http://www.hulu.com/

<===HuMoR===>
One day my mother was out and my dad was in charge of me and my brother who is four years older than I am. I was maybe 1 and a half years old and had just recovered from an accident in which my arm had been broken among other injuries.
Someone had given me a little ‘tea set’ as a get-well gift and it was one of my favourite toys. Daddy was in the living room engrossed in the evening news and my brother was playing nearby in the living room when I brought Daddy a little cup of ‘tea’, which was really just water.
After several cups of tea and lots of praise for such yummy tea, my Mom came home. My Dad made her wait in the living room to watch me bring him a cup of tea, because it was ‘just the cutest thing!!’
My Mom waited, and sure enough, here I came down the hall with a cup of tea for Daddy. She watched him drink it up, then says, ‘Did it ever occur to you that the only place that baby can reach to get water is the toilet??’
(thanks, Cari)
+++++++++++++++++++++
There was once a man from the city who was visiting a small farm, and during this visit he saw a farmer feeding pigs in a most extraordinary manner. The farmer would lift a pig up to a nearby apple tree, and the pig would eat the apples off the tree directly.
The farmer would move the pig from one apple to another until the pig was satisfied, then he would start again with another pig. The city man watched this activity for some time with great astonishment.
Finally, he could not resist saying to the farmer, “This is the most inefficient method of feeding pigs that I can imagine. Just think of the time that would be saved if you simply shook the apples off the tree and let the pigs eat them from the ground!”
The farmer looked puzzled and replied, “What’s time to a pig?”
(thanks, Jonas)
+++++++++++++++++++++
Heavy snow had buried my van in our driveway. My husband, Scott, dug around the wheels, rocked the van back and forth and finally pushed me free. I was on the road when I heard an odd noise. I got on my cell and called home. “Thank God you answered,” I said when Scott picked up. “There’s this alarming sound coming under the van. For a moment I thought I was dragging you down the highway.”
“And you didn’t stop?”
(thanks, Paige)
+++++++++++++++++++++
Saturday had always been “cleaning day” in the old homestead, and my mother still adhered to the ritual after all her children had left the nest. When I stopped by to visit her one Saturday, I was surprised to find her relaxing in a favorite chair. “Aren’t you feeling well?” I asked.
“I feel fine.”
“But you’re not cleaning.”
“After all these years I’ve finally figured out how to get it done in half the time,” Mom told me. “I simply take off my glasses.”
(thanks, Pat)
====================
And that’s my cue to call it a day. Well, maybe just for now … we’ll have to see what my wife has in store today. Then I can call it a day. Whatever your day, make it a good one and remember, as I have said for year, ‘may God bless you and keep you safe’.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

