Jim’s WebLetter for 3/29/08

Hi-ya friends and neighbors!

Yes, it’s that time again … the last weekend in March. Three months down, nine to go til the new year. Florida weather has been so good to us this year … I think about the Jimmy Buffett song, “they’re freezin’ up in Buffalo, stuck in their cars, while I’m lying here ‘neath the moon and the stars” (Changes in Lattitude, Changes in Attitude). I feel for the folks in the midwest who’ve had to deal with the flooding … and all the snowfall that just confirms somehow that we’re in some sort of ‘global warming’ (?). It’s just that it’s tough trying to be too concerned about it all when the average temperature for the next 7 days here in FLA will be in the 70’s to near 80. (By the way, the beach was EXCELLENT yesterday. I shot some video and will have it up on the Fernandina Living site this weekend.)

So, with the Buffett song still running through my brain, let me turn to some of the things I discovered this week on the world wide Web.

The first thing that stuck out this week was a story I came across about how this spring electronic dealers nationwide will be offering buyback programs for used electronic gadgets. This will include computers, old cellphones, PDA’s and the like … all collected and sold to recyclers. Just who will be offering it and how it all works is still to be determined, but the fact that the old computers I have stored away in my closets will soon find their way to the local e-store for a gift card, or in-store credit … thereby creating space and removing unwanted “hazardous” material from my home. CNET has the story … http://tinyurl.com/2axh5t

Anyone following the story of Microsoft’s attempt to buy Yahoo will love this story … seems that China has a law going into effect in August that forbids large companies from buying each other up. In an “anti-trust” provision of the law that has been practiced since 2005, China has the right to determine if companies who have interests in it’s country can “merge” their interests. That could put a real kink in the process for MS. Makes for interesting reading … http://tinyurl.com/2ev97w

Alison, a JWL reader and longtime friend, sent me a link this week about how Google has teamed up with Common Sense Media to create a standard of rules for young Web users. Created as a video, there are also helpful links for parents. http://tinyurl.com/344tcb While I was on the site, I noticed a “Media Matters” point … “Among teens’ top 20 most-watched TV shows, 70 percent include sexual content, and nearly half include sexual behavior”. My one question is, “why?”. Kids and young people have far more things to think about and do than watching something that shouldn’t be aired on TV in the first place (remember parents, kids act out what they see). Maybe that’s why I don’t find anything amusing about the new lineup of comedy programs this year. Blame whomever you want, but the fact is, Hollywood won’t create more of it, if nobody will watch it.

OK, I’m stepping down off the soap box and turning to other Web things … like the fact that this week brings April 1st and “April Fools Day”. Wired Magazine online has a story of the 10 Best April Fools since 1976 when Astronomer Patrick Moore urged his BBC Radio audience to jump into the air at the exact moment that Pluto went behind Jupiter to experience a floating sensation. Do you know, people did it and called in to say they were successful? Those brits. http://www.wired.com/culture/lifestyle/magazine/16-04/st_best

And speaking of the heavens … if you love Astronomy, or just find yourself looking at the sky on a clear evening, then this might be the Web site for you. Wikisky is host to one of the most in depth maps of the cosmos, covering over a half a billion celestial bodies. With the simple scroll of the mouse you’ll traverse the universe, and really get a feel of the magnitude of it’s size. http://wikisky.org/

<==HuMoR==>
Have you noticed that children sometimes try to be helpful, but it makes your life more complicated?
I heard a story about a mother who was sick with the flu. Her darling daughter wanted to be a good nurse. She fluffed the pillows and brought a magazine for her mother to read. And then she showed up with a cup of tea.
“You’re such a sweetheart,” the mother said as she drank the tea. “I didn’t know you could make tea.”
“Oh, yes,” the little girl replied. “I put the tea leaves in the water like you do, and I boiled it, and then I strained it into a cup. But I couldn’t find a strainer, so I used the flyswatter.”
“You what?”
And the little girl said, “Oh, don’t worry, mom. I didn’t use the new flyswatter. I used the old one.”
(thanks, Woody)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
When I was introduced to a couple visiting our congregation, I decided to remember their names by noting they were the same as those of two characters in a popular children’s story.
After the services I stopped to talk to them, and as they were saying goodbye I teased, “Be careful going up that hill! But you must get that all the time.”
They smiled politely but said nothing. After they left, my wife asked, “What was that all about?”
“Jack and Jill. Up the hill. Remember?” I said.
“Yes, but what does that have to do with,” she pointed to the couple, “Dick and Jane?”
(thanks, Betty)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
A woman was talking to her friends about her husband who had passed away.
When her husband was on his death bed, and he told her that he had three envelopes in his desk drawer that would “take care” of all of the arrangements. Well, he died shortly thereafter, so the wife opened the drawer and there were 3 envelopes just like he said.
One the first envelope it said “for the casket”. There was $5,000.00 in the envelope, so she bought him a very nice casket.
The second envelope said “for the expenses” and had $4,000.00 in it so she paid all the bills from the funeral.
The third envelope said “for the stone” and had $3,000.00 in it. She then held her hand out to her friends and said, “Isn’t it beautiful!!!”
(thanks, Frank)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
KIDS AND MARRIAGE
How do you Decide Whom to Marry?
You got to find somebody who likes the same stuff. Like, if you like sports, she should like it that you like sports, and she should keep the chips and dip coming.
–Alan, age 10

What is the Right Age to get Married?
Twenty-three is the best age because you know the person FOREVER by then.
–Camille, age 10

How can a Stranger Tell if Two People are Married?
You might have to guess, based on whether they seem to be yelling at the same kids.
–Derrick, age 8

What do you Think Your Mom and Dad Have in Common?
Both don’t want any more kids.
–Lori, age 8

What do Most People do on a Date?
Dates are for having fun, and people should use them to get to know each other. Even boys have something to say if you listen long enough.
–Lynnette, age 8

What Would you do on a First Date That Was Turning Sour?
I’d run home and play dead. The next day I would call all the newspapers and make sure they wrote about me in all the dead columns.
–Craig, age 9

When is it Okay to Kiss Someone?
The law says you have to be eighteen, so I wouldn’t want to mess with that.
–Curt, age 7

Is it better to be Single or Married?
I don’t know which is better, but I’ll tell you one thing. I’m never going to have sex with my wife. I don’t want to be all grossed out.
–Theodore, age 8

How Would You Make a Marriage Work?
Tell your wife that she looks pretty even if she looks like a truck.
–Ricky, age 10
=============================
And that’s this week’s collection of sites and jokes from the Web, friends. Thank you for your time and for those who sent along things that they saw. If you see something you think should be shared, send it to me. If I use it, you get the credit.

Til next week, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
www.JimOnline.com
www.FernandinaLiving.com

Leave a Reply

