Jim’s WebLetter for 6/28/08

Hi-ya Webfriends!

It’s been a busy week for me. So before I get back into a site I am building, let me dash off a few thoughts and show you a few sites I came across this week with this edition of Jim’s Webletter.

Friday marked a passing of the baton for Microsoft. Bill Gates has retired. OK, so he’s still the chairman of the company and he still has more shares of the company than anyone else, but he’s not going into work everyday and punching a time card. He and he wife will be working full time with the Bill and Medinda Gates Foundation. Everyone is marking this change as a major development (“what will Microsoft do now?”). Frankly, if he’s still the chairman, then he still has a say in the operations, therefore, he can always call the shots from his mansion outside Redmond. All I hope is that eventually the company will get Vista fixed and we’ll all be using it because it has some really great features. Mr. Gates is 52. When you’re one of the richest men in the world, you can do pretty much whatever you want. He’s doing it. My question is, upon retirement, did the company give him a gold watch? CNET TV has a “look back” at the life of Bill in the Saturday edition of the programming. It’s pretty good. http://www.cnettv.com/

So, this week I found a few other places worth bookmarking. Take for instance an online design shop for your home or office. If you have remodeling in mind, use PlanningWiz. This is free tool. You begin by entering the dimensions of your room, then add existing structural elements like doors, arches and windows. Add new structural elements to your room, or just move furniture around to see how it will look before doing the heavy lifting. You can also change the floor covering. Then add furniture to see how things will look. Once you’re done, save or e-mail your plan for future reference. http://v3.planningwiz.com/

In the past, there wasn’t much to do while Spybot scans your machine except sit and watch the status bar. Now, with version Spybot 1.4, there is a fun and simple game hidden as an Easter egg. While the scanning processes, click the binoculars in the top left-hand corner next to “Search and Destroy.” You will hear a horse neigh and a game grid similar to Minesweeper will appear. Get clicking and have fun! To download Spybot, go to … http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html

What’s on YouTube? Anyone who’s visited will tell you, videos … you name it, you can find it. I found a video you have to see (where have I heard that statement before!?!) This proves that crime does not pay and is a good deterant to anyone thinking about it … from LawyerShop TV, here are two of the dumbest criminals caught on video … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCfsCQybek0

Finally, here’s a cross between Mr. Potato head and the mind of Picasso. Visit Mr Picasso Head and create your own version. You’ll find a digital canvas with Picasso-esque head images that youi can place on the canvas and manipulate the size and rotate at will. You can even sign it when the masterpiece is completed. Then email it to yourself or a friend. http://www.mrpicassohead.com/

<==HuMoR==>

Back before he became an instantly recognized celebrity, when Albert Einstein was first making the rounds of the speaker’s circuit, he usually found himself eagerly longing to get back to his laboratory work. One night as they were driving to yet another dinner, Einstein mentioned to his chauffeur that he was tired of speechmaking.
“I have an idea, boss,” his chauffeur said. “I’ve heard you give this speech so many times. I’ll bet I could give it for you.”
Einstein laughed loudly and said, “Why not? Let’s do it!”
When they arrive at the dinner, Einstein donned the chauffeur’s cap and jacket and sat in the back of the room. The chauffeur gave a beautiful rendition of Einstein’s speech and even answered a few questions expertly. Then a supremely pompous professor asked an extremely esoteric question about anti-matter formation, digressing here and there to let everyone in the audience know that he was nobody’s fool.
Without missing a beat, the chauffeur fixed the professor with a steely stare and said, “Sir, the answer to that question is so simple that I will let my chauffeur, who is sitting in the back, answer it for me.”
(Thanks, Alan)
+++++++++++++++++++++
NOTICE: Blonde jokes are just jokes … they are not intended to hurt anyone’s feelings. That being said …

A blonde is overweight, so her doctor puts her on a diet.”I want you to eat regularly for two days, then skip a day, and repeat the procedure for two weeks. The next time I see you, you’ll have lost at least five pounds.” When the blonde returns, she’s lost nearly 20 pounds. “Why, that’s amazing!” the doctor says. “Did you follow my instructions?” The blonde nods. “I’ll tell you, though, I thought I was going to drop dead that third day.” “From hunger, you mean?” said the doctor. “No, from skipping,” replied the blonde.
(thanks, Charlie)
+++++++++++++++++++++
During his spare time my brother, an attorney, volunteers on his town’s fire and rescue squad. When I mentioned this to a friend, he smiled and said, “Let me get this straight. Your brother is a lawyer and an EMT? So he doesn’t have to chase the ambulance — he’s already in it?”
(thanks, Dale)
+++++++++++++++++++++
You probably know of those “walking to school” stories … I walked to school each day, 5 miles, uphill, both ways, barefoot, in the snow …..
Well, when I was a kid, I really did walk 10 miles to school every day, sometimes in the rain or snow. Man, did I feel stupid when I found out there was a bus.
(Thanks, Don)
====================
So, there you have it. A collection of sites and jokes to fill another issue of Jim’s WebLetter. Thanks for your time. I hope you find something in here worth passing on to a friend. Til next week, keep smiling … and remember that before you do, check for food stuck between your teeth first!

May God continue to bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.JimOnline.com
http://www.FernandinaLiving.com

Leave a Reply

