Jim’s WebLetter for 7/19/08

Hi-ya neighbors and friends!

And a special “hi-ya” to the new folks who signed up to receive JWL by email this week. Each week, I show you the things I discovered while working on the web. Sometimes I show what other JWL readers have found and taken the time to send to me. Especially the jokes.

Before we get there, take a look at a few of my new bookmarks …

First off, I love to travel. My wife and I have had the pleasure of going to several of the destinations on our list of places to visit and I have to say if I were “well funded”, I would be home about half the time. When we do plan to travel, we check out the things we want to see and form an itinerary. Now at PlanetEye, we can learn about attractions, restaurants and hotels at our destination, then we build an itinerary in the “Travel Pack” they provide. It’s also set up to help us decide where we want to go next, when we finally get through our list and are looking for another destination. http://www.planeteye.com/Home.aspx

If you’re a history fan, you will love this next site. It’s the digital vault of the American National Archive. If you can’t visit the place in person in Washington DC (it’s one of the places on our list to visit), this site hosts over 1,200 of its 10 billion records in an interactive way. The collection presents itself to you randomly, which you can shuffle if nothing suits your fancy. When you find things that you like, you can start creating your own archive collection. http://digitalvaults.org/#

Unlike most food sites where you just find hundreds of recipes, Cook’s Illustrated focuses on the techniques of home cooking. Sure, it includes a searchable database of recipes featured from the magazine, but each issue includes cooking techniques, product tastings, equipment testing, and cookbook reviews. http://www.cooksillustrated.com/

Here’s an interesting fact that the national news people haven’t yet told us … despite the increased cost for everything (gasoline being the chief commodity of increase), people are shopping at an all-time high. Instead of getting into the SUV or Hummer and driving to the malls, they are shopping online. Several stores are reporting a jump in their website purchasing activity (overall 21% increase since this time last year). In addition, coupon websites have seen a two to four fold increase in visits during the same period. Popular sites and their links are reported in the NY Times today … http://tinyurl.com/thetimesstory

Also this week, Mozilla pushed out an update to their new Firefox 3.0 … did you get it? For those still using the older Firefox, there was an update for the browser, too. I gotta hand it to the Mozilla people, instead of us waiting for a fix (like they do at Microsoft), they send it along. CNET has the details … http://tinyurl.com/thecnetstory

And because our friends on the other side of the “great divide” tend to be about 18 months ahead of us in technology, I am a frequent reader of the BBC news. A story that has caught my attention is headlined, “Say goodbye to the computer mouse”. Seems with gaming and other technologies coming into vogue that the mouse has fewer uses, therefore … unplug. Makes interesting reading. http://tinyurl.com/thebbcstory

Finally, because I like to see what other browser creators are doing, I have downloaded and have been using K-Meleon for some time now. In short, I love it. It’s fast loading, light weight and created by the same people who brought us Firefox, the Mozilla people. There are so many things to like about this browser including tabbing or a new window, listed under the File dropdown, to the Configuration tab on the Edit dropdown where you can literally change anything you want about the browser from skin to page speed, to the Zoom feature under the View dropdown that lets you easily increase the size of the page or just the text. You might want to check this little titan of a browser out for yourself. It’s pronounced “Cameleon” … http://kmeleon.sourceforge.net/

<==HuMoR==>
A husband and wife were at a party chatting with some friends when the subject of marriage counseling came up.
“Oh, we’ll never need that. My husband and I have a great relationship,” the wife explained.
“He was a communications major in college, and I majored in theater arts.
He communicates really well, and I just act as if I’m listening.”
(thanks, Tony)
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
A man is driving up a steep, narrow mountain road. A woman is driving down the same road. As they pass each other, the woman leans out of the window and yells “PIG!!”
The man immediately leans out of his window and replies, “WITCH!!”
They each continue on their way, and as the man rounds the next corner, he crashes into a pig in the middle of the road.
If men would only listen.
(thanks, “LB”)
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
To entertain a business partner from England last winter, my father took him to a restaurant in Butte, Montana. They ordered red wine, which arrived icy cold, seemingly straight from the refrigerator. “Oh, miss,” my father’s guest said to the waitress. “Red wine should be served at room temperature.”
“Is that right?” she replied. “Then maybe you should come visit us again in July.”
(thanks, Ramona)
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
I DON’T KNOW HOW FUNNY THIS IS, BUT IT IS WORTH READING:
Whenever I get a package of plain M&Ms, I make it my duty to continue the strength and robustness of the candy as a species. To this end, I hold M&M duels.
Taking two candies between my thumb and forefinger, I apply pressure, squeezing them together until one of them cracks and splinters. That is the “loser,” and I eat the inferior one immediately. The winner gets to go another round.
I have found that, in general, the brown and red M&Ms are tougher, and the newer blue ones are genetically inferior. I have hypothesized that the blue M&Ms as a race cannot survive long in the intense theatre of competition that is the modern candy and snack-food world. Occasionally I will get a mutation, a candy that is misshapen, or pointier, or flatter than the rest. Almost invariably this proves to be a weakness, but on very rare occasions it gives the candy extra strength. In this way, the species continues to adapt to its environment.
When I reach the end of the pack, I am left with one M&M, the strongest of the herd. Since it would make no sense to eat this one as well, I pack it neatly in an envelope and send it to:
M&M Mars, A Division of Mars, Inc., Hackettstown, NJ 17840-1503, along with a 3×5 card reading, “Please use this M&M for breeding purposes.”
This week they wrote back to thank me, and sent me a coupon for a free 1/2 pound bag of plain M&Ms. I consider this “grant money.” I have set aside the weekend for a grand tournament. From a field of hundreds, we will discover the True Champion.
There can be only one.
(thanks, I think, John)
==============================
And that’s the week at a glance and a wink, WebLetter readers. Thank you for your participation. For those who sent the jokes, please continue … I don’t have time to dream up stuff like this. And if you know someone who’d like to get this publication weekly, just have them visit my website and sign up. It’s free. Remember too, it’s blogged each week at WordPress (jimonline.wordpress.com)

Until next weekend, and as always, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

