Jim’s WebLetter for 8/23/08

Hi-ya Webfriends!

Well, it’s been one interesting week with tropical storm Fay coming through the area. If there was ever a week to plan to be out of the state, it’s this one. So here we are in Illinois visiting our kids and grandkids while keeping watch on the weather back home. Believe me, we planned this trip weeks ago not knowing the storm would develop and come through this week. Thanks to my friends who watched over the place and to Pieter who even did a video of our place and put it on YouTube so we could see that it came through the storm relatively unscathed.

With all the news the storm created there were a few other things going on that was pretty interesting. Here what I mean …

Two industry giants are discussing a partnership that would give Google’s search service a prominent spot on the screens of Verizon phones. http://tinyurl.com/verizon-google

Meanwhile, Intel has struck a deal with Yahoo to produce a Widget Channel that lets viewers e-mail friends, trade shares or check the weather while watching programs. The internet-based services will run on a new set of Intel chips designed specifically for web-connected devices. http://tinyurl.com/intel-yahoo

Microsoft released Photosynth, a site that stitches plain photographs together to create a pseudo-3D world, but the millions of users who clamored to try it out promptly brought the server to its knees. Instead of issuing a standard explanation apologizing for the outage, Microsoft praised the server problem by saying how happy they were so many people came to use it. Once they got the system back online, it’s no wonder they were upbeat. Click the link and create some really impressive photo montages. http://photosynth.net/Default.aspx

Is comedian Jerry Seinfeld the right guy to promote Microsoft? They’re betting $300 million dollars that he is. In a story from MSNBC, it seems that Microsoft is finally ready to strike back at Apple for all the negative stuff that has been aimed at them in the past. http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/26335465/

Firefox 3 users should be looking for an update coming as Mozilla programmers built TraceMonkey into the latest developer version of the open-source Web browser. FF 3.1 is due in final form by the end of the year, though Mozilla is willing to let the schedule slip a bit, if necessary. http://tinyurl.com/firefoxupdate

<==HuMoR==>

The irate customer, calling the newspaper offices, loudly demanded to know where her Sunday edition was.
“Ma’am,” said the employee, “Today is Saturday. The Sunday paper is not delivered until Sunday.”
There was quite a pause on the other end of the phone, followed by a ray of recognition.
“So that’s why no one was in church today.”
(thanks, Bud)
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
An older tired-looking dog wandered into my yard; I could tell from his collar and well-fed belly that he had a home and was well taken care of.
He calmly came over to me, I gave him a few pats on his head; he then followed me into my house, slowly walked down the hall, curled up in the corner and fell asleep.
An hour later, he went to the door, and I let him out.
The next day he was back, greeted me in my yard, walked inside and resumed his spot in the hall and again slept for about an hour. This continued off and on for several weeks.
Curious I pinned a note to his collar : ‘I would like to find out who the owner of this wonderful sweet dog is and ask if you are aware that almost every afternoon your dog comes to my house for a nap.’
The next day he arrived for his nap, with a different note pinned to his collar: ‘He lives in a home with 6 children, 2 under the age of 3 – he’s trying to catch up on his sleep. Can I come with him tomorrow?’
(thanks, Rich)
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
WHY WE LOVE CHILDREN

1) NUDITY
I was driving with my three young children one warm summer evening when a woman in the convertible ahead of us stood up and waved. She was stark naked! As I was reeling from the shock, I heard my 5-year-old shout from the back seat, ‘Mom, that lady isn’t wearing a seat belt!’

2) OPINIONS
On the first day of school, a first-grader handed his teacher a note from his mother. The note read, ‘The opinions expressed by this child are not necessarily those of his parents.’

3) KETCHUP
A woman was trying hard to get the ketchup out of the jar. During her struggle the phone rang so she asked her 4-year-old daughter to answer the phone. ‘Mommy can’t come to the phone to talk to you right now. She’s hitting the bottle.’

4) MORE NUDITY
A little boy got lost at the YMCA and found himself in the women’s locker room. When he was spotted, the room burst into shrieks, with ladies grabbing towels and running for cover. The little boy watched in amazement and then asked, ‘What’s the matter, haven’t you ever seen a little boy before?’

5) POLICE # 1
While taking a routine vandalism report at an elementary school, I was interrupted by a little girl about 6 years old. Looking up and down at my uniform, she asked, ‘Are you a cop?’ ‘Yes’, I answered and continued writing the report. ‘My mother said if I ever needed help I should ask the police. Is that right?’ ‘Yes, that’s right,’ I told her. ‘Well, then,’ she said as she extended her foot toward me, ‘would you please tie my shoe?’

6) DEATH
While walking along the sidewalk in front of his church, our minister heard the intoning of a prayer that nearly made his collar wilt. Apparently, his 5-year-old son and his playmates had found a dead robin. Feeling that proper burial should be performed, they had secured a small box and cotton batting, then dug a hole and made ready for the disposal of the deceased.
The minister’s son was chosen to say the appropriate prayers and with sonorous dignity intoned his version of what he thought his father always said: ‘Glory be unto the Faaather, and unto the Sonnn, and into the hole he goooes.’

7) SCHOOL
A little girl had just finished her first week of school. ‘I’m just wasting my time,’ she said to her mother. ‘I can’t read, I can’t write, and they won’t let me talk!’

8) BIBLE
A little boy opened the big family Bible. He was fascinated as he fingered through the old pages. Suddenly, something fell out of the Bible. He picked up the object and looked at it. What he saw was an old leaf that had been pressed in between the pages.
‘Mama, look what I found,’ the boy called out.
‘What have you got there, dear?’
With astonishment in the young boy’s voice, he answered, ‘I think it’s Adam’s underwear!’
(thanks, Jeryl)
============================
And that’s this week’s look at the Web, my friends. Have a great weekend and be looking for the next issue by email and blog next weekend.

Til then, may God continue to bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
jim
C-my-site: http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

