Hi-ya friends!

‘Tis the weekend before Christmas and all through the house, I’m trying to find time to wrap up some gifts. It doesn’t rhyme, but it explains how this month has been … busy! But it’s time again to stop long enough and write a few things about what I’ve found on the Web in this week’s issue of Jim’s WebLetter.

This week, Windows told the world that it’s browser, Internet Explorer 7, had serious safety issues and that it would be best to use another browser, including Firefox, until it can get the patch issued to all users. It isn’t to say that Firefox is perfect, but it is safer to use and when benchmark tested, actually loads faster than IE 7. With it’s many add-on applications available, Firefox is still my choice of browser. Here’s the BBC report … http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/7788687.stm

With the recession comes cutbacks. This is another story of a family who decided that regular TV viewing was more expensive than internet viewing and video renting. Think about this: what are your favorite shows you watch and can you find them, even if it’s the day after air date, online? If so, which is less expensive, your TV or your internet connection? Chances are, you’re paying more to have satellite TV or Cable in your home than an internet connection. In this story from CNET news, Debra and Melvin James made the switch and are saving more than $90 a month … http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-10125962-94.html?tag=newsEditorsPicksArea.0

Doriano Carta’s article in Mashable lists 20 sources for free HD quality video online. The high density quality of videos on the Web really make watching worthwhile. In his article he links to the places and gives a brief synopsis of each for our viewing pleasure. It’s a great alternative to the line, “there’s nothing on TV to watch”. One of the sites listed is Vimeo, which allows you to upload your own videos and convert them to HD. http://mashable.com/2008/11/13/free-hd-video/

So you’ve gotten a new computer, or “santa” is bringing one this Christmas. If you’re planning on disposing of the old computer, the dilemna of what to do with the hard drive is easily solved with a trip to Computer Hope. The problem is your personal information stored on the old PC could be used to steal your identity. The site offers several links to software, much of it free, that will aid in wiping the hard drive clean. http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000520.htm

And speaking of the guy in the red suit, each year NORAD tracks Santa as he makes his run to bring toys to the good girls and boys. This year’s site has been updated to including tracking in 3-D using Google Earth. The site includes games, videos and information about the jolly old elf. http://www.noradsanta.org/en/home.html

Worked hard this season to get everything done before the holidays? Take a break with some online games. Y3 is a directory of flash games including sports, puzzles, and role playing games. http://www.y3.com/

Finally, it was a treat to see ‘Charlie Brown Christmas’ on TV again this year. It had been awhile since I had seen it, and I laughed at all the jokes again, just as I had years ago. The story is so relevant to our present life that, even though it had been produced more than 40 years ago, it was like the late Charles Shultz knew it would still be fresh today. It centered around how we all have our own interpretation of what Christmas really means … some say it’s gift giving, others’ getting money. But it isn’t until Charlie Brown exclaims, “isn’t there anyone who knows what Christmas is all about?”, that his younger brother, Linus steps up, and taking center stage, tells us all the Christmas Story. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZw06AbW6Vw

<===HuMoR===>
My teacher said I was being disrespectful. She’d asked us what our favorite animal was, and I’d said, “Fried chicken”.
She said I wasn’t funny, but she couldn’t have been right. Everyone else in the class laughed.
My parents told me to always be honest, and I am. Fried chicken is my favorite animal. I told my dad what happened, and he said my teacher was probably a member of PETA. He said they love animals very much. I do too. Especially chicken, pork and beef.
Anyway, my teacher sent me to the principal’s office. I told him what happened and he laughed too. Then he told me not to do it again.
The next day in class my teacher asked me what my favorite live animal was. I told her it was chicken. She asked me why, just like she’d asked the other children. So I told her it was because you could make them into fried chicken.
She sent me back to the principal’s office again. He laughed, and told me not to do it again.
I don’t understand. My parents taught me to be honest, but my teacher doesn’t like it when I am.
Today, my teacher asked us to tell her what famous person we admire most. I told her “Colonel Sanders”. She sent me to the principal’s office again.
This school stuff is really confusing.
(thanks, Tony)
+++++++++++++++++++++
CHRISTMAS SONGS FOR THE MENTALLY DISTURBED

SCHIZOPHRENIA – Do You Hear What I Hear?
MULTIPLE PERSONALITY – We Three Queens Disoriented Are.
DEMENTIA – I Think I’ll Be Home For Christmas.
NARCISSISTIC – Hark The Herald Angels Sing (About Me)
MANIA – Deck the Halls and Walls and House and Lawn and Streets and and Office and Town.
PARANOIA – Santa Claus is Coming To Get Me.
PERSONALITY DISORDER – You Better Watch Out, I’m Gonna Cry, I’m Gonna Pout, then MAYBE I’ll tell you why.
DEPRESSION – Silent anhedonia, Holy anhedonia. All is calm, All is pretty lonely.
OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE – Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell Rock, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell Rock, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell Rock, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell Rock, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell Rock, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell Rock, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell Rock, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell, Jingle Bell Rock, Jingle Bell…
BORDERLINE PERSONALITY – Thoughts of Roasting in an Open Fire.
PASSIVE AGGRESSIVE – On the First Day of Christmas My True Love Gave to Me (and then took it all away)
+++++++++++++++++++++
This guy goes into his dentist’s office, because something is wrong with his mouth. After a brief examination, the dentist exclaims, “Holy Smoke! That plate I installed in your mouth about six months ago has nearly completely corroded! What on earth have you been eating?” “Well… the only thing I can think of is this… my wife made me some asparagus about four months ago with this stuff on it… Hollandaise sauce she called it… and doctor, I’m talkin’ DELICIOUS! I’ve never tasted anything like it, and ever since then I’ve been putting it on everything… meat, fish, toast, vegetables… you name it!” “That’s probabably it,” replied the dentist “Hollandaise sauce is made with lemon juice, which is acidic and highly corrosive. It seems as thought I’ll have to install a new plate, but made out of chrome this time.” “Why chrome?” the man asked. “Well, everyone knows that there’s no plate like chrome for the Hollandaise!”
(thanks, Henry)
+++++++++++++++++++++
It was supposed to be a happy time, but it wasn’t. Santa was really angry. It was Christmas Eve and NOTHING was going right. Mrs. Claus had burned all the Christmas cookies. The Elves were complaining about not getting paid for the overtime they had put in while making toys, and the reindeer had been drinking all afternoon and were dead drunk. They had taken the sleigh out for a spin earlier in the day and crashed it into a tree, breaking off one of the runners.
Santa was beside himself with anger. “I CAN’T believe it! I’ve got to deliver millions of presents all over the world in just a few hours from now and all my reindeer are drunk, my Elves are on strike and I don’t even have a Christmas tree! I sent that stupid little Angel out HOURS ago to find a tree and he isn’t even back yet! What am I going to do??”
Just then the Little Angel opened the front door and stepped in from the snowy night, dragging a Christmas tree behind him. “Yo, Santa”, he says, “Where do you want me to stick the Christmas tree this year????”
And thus the tradition of Angels perched atop the Christmas trees came to pass…..
(thanks, Eileen … I think)
====================
So, I’m back to wrapping and getting presents ready before everyone descends on us this weekend. Have a wonderful and merry Christmas and may you never forget that ‘Christ’ is the beginning of Christmas and He will always be the reason for the season.

Until next weekend and the final edition of JWL for 2008, may God continue to bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

