Jim’s WebLetter for 8/1/09

Hi-ya JWL readers!

As I posted on my Facebook page yesterday, August 1st marks the anniversary of MTV which began broadcasting music videos in 1981. That is significant because the channel was the first of it’s kind that offered another way for you to listen to your favorite music. Of course what they’ve done to the channel in the past several years is, in the eyes of music purists and parents alike, a tragedy. But the fact is MTV showed the world that there was another medium that provided songs that the vast majority of radio listeners liked to hear. It also opened up an industry and created jobs for video creators, producers and directors and online websites where these videos could be placed and found by anyone with a half-decent internet connection. The first song MTV played for their debut was from the Buggles entitled “Video killed the Radio Star”. Prophetic, don’t you think? While the original version of the video is available on YouTube, the live version from the Prince’s Trust concert in 2004 is my favorite. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9slEfTBRXc

If you haven’t heard, Bing the new search engine from Microsoft, will be getting ads delivered by Yahoo. In an agreement between the two powerhouse companies dubbed “Microhoo”, Yahoo will provide ad placement and offer many of it’s other features, including search engine properties. Microsoft gets a real boost for it’s new search device. There’s lots of money to be made in all this. It’s still important to note that they still haven’t really fixed the issue of being able to accidently fall into unsavory sites when you’re seaching for something else, but Microsoft assures everyone it’s working on it. Here’s the story of the “deal” … http://news.cnet.com/8301-17939_109-10299021-2.html?tag=mncol;txt

Last weekend, I told you about Google Voice. The idea of getting a phone number you want tied to all your other phone numbers that includes voicemail to text, cheaper long distance calls outside the US and free calls all over the country. All for free from Google. Well, apparently Apple and AT&T don’t like the feature and have banned it from the IPhone. So, what’s a company to do about it? Enter the Federal Communications Commission who will be investigating why EVERY OTHER PHONE in the world will allow it, but not IPhone. Get where this is going? Good luck with that notion, there Apple/AT&T. I think you just lost. I like my Voice. Others who are using it do, too. Apply for your Voice here … http://www.google.com/voice

Heads up on a contest that opened just today. Kim Komando is offering Sony computer products as a back to school giveaway. You can register each day beginning today until the end of the contest which is August 31st. Here’s the link … good luck! http://school.komando.com/

Speaking of Kim, on her site this week, she features 5 Cool Effects for your Photos. One of them features the ability to put a photo on the front cover of a magazine. The magazines cover (get the pun?) a number of different topics. There are even comic book covers to choose from. Then once you’ve made your decision, you can post it free on a number of different sites including Facebook. Or spend a little money and get a full size print. It’s really clever, uh cool, how the finished product turns out. http://www.magmypic.com/

<===HuMoR===>
A young boy stopped by the corner grocery store and read his list to the clerk: “10 pounds if sugar at $1.25 a pound; 4 pounds of coffee at $1.50 a pound; 2 pounds of butter at $1.10 a pound and 2 bars of soap at 83 cents each. How much does that come to?”
“Twenty-two dollars and thirty-six cents,” replied the clerk.
“If I gave you three ten dollar bills, how much change would I get?”
“Seven dollars and sixty-four cents.”
“Thanks! That’s my arithmetic homework for tomorrow.”
(thanks, Terry)
+++++++++++++++++++++
My English teacher announced to the class; “There are two words I don’t allow in my class. One is gross and the other is cool.”
From the back of the room a voice called out, “So, what are the words?”
(thanks, Tony)
+++++++++++++++++++++
You May Have Heard This, But It’s Still Funny …
Talking Dog for Sale

He rings the bell and the owner appears and tells him the dog is in the backyard.
The guy goes into the backyard and sees a nice looking Labrador retriever sitting there.
“You talk?” he asks.
“Yep,” the Lab replies.
After the guy recovers from the shock of hearing a dog talk, he says “So, what’s your story?”
The Lab looks up and says, “Well, I discovered that I could talk when I was pretty young. I wanted to help the government, so I told the CIA and they had me sworn into the toughest branch of the armed services … The United States Marine Corps… You know one of their nicknames is “The Devil Dogs.”
In no time at all they had me jetting from country to country, sitting in rooms with spies and world leaders; because no one figured a dog would be eavesdropping.
I was one of their most valuable spies for eight years running, but the jetting around really tired me out and I knew I wasn’t getting any younger.
So, I decided to settle down. I retired from the Corps (8 dog years is 56 Corps years) and signed up for a job at the airport to do some undercover security, wandering near suspicious characters and listening in.”
“I uncovered some incredible dealings and was awarded a batch of medals.. I got married, had a mess of puppies, and now I’m just retired.”
The guy is amazed. He goes back in and asks the owner what he wants for the dog.
“Ten dollars,” the guy says.
“Ten dollars? This dog is amazing! Why on earth are you selling him so cheap?”
“Because he’s a liar! He never did any of that crap. He was in the Navy!”
(thanks, Ben)
+++++++++++++++++++++
Can you believe a candidate dropped out of the race because of a lack of campaign funds? Anyone who stops spending just because he’s out of money doesn’t belong in Washington anyway!
(thanks, Glenn)
====================
Don’t get me started with political stuff after this week, ok? Beers on the White House lawn? What’s next, slot machines? Health care for everyone (almost) but the government doesn’t have to take it? That’s like a short order cook saying, “I wouldn’t eat this slop I’m fixing”. Trade in your old clunker … oh, wait, there’s no more money for it, uh, check that, now there is. (That’s magic, isn’t it? Now you see it, now you don’t.) See, I told you not to get me started. It’s the weekend. Enjoy and I’ll be writing again next weekend. Til then, may God continue to bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

