Jim’s WebLetter for 9/19/09

Hi-ya net neighbors and friends!

This week, Google released a new feature from their Google Labs that I have found to be invaluable. Imagine being able to read from a collection of 3000 magazines that are updated through the course of the day. You rifle through the selection with a click of the arrow keys or search for a story or section (my favorite is SCI/TECH) and get magazines with those stories. Click on the magazine image and it comes up full screen. Then if you want to view the entire magazine, click again. Done. It’s called Fast Flip and I have bookmarked this one on my top list of what I look at everyday. It even comes up on my phone and allows me to access magazines from wherever I am. http://fastflip.googlelabs.com/

If you own an IPhone, you still can’t get Google Voice on it because Apple and AT&T haven’t approved. It’s funny how you have thousands of applications available to you including some of the most useless things you would ever consider (i.e., “tickle me” and “phone saber” ??) but for something that allows for free calls, blocking unwanted calls, converting voice to text and storing the conversations online, and cheap calls to 200 international countries … well, why would ANYONE want that on their phone? My Blackberry has it and I think it’s the next best thing to crunchy peanut butter. http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/09/18/google-says-apple-flatly-rejected-voice-app-for-iphone/?ref=technology

I like finding music I enjoyed listening to and playing on the air back in my radio days. It’s fun hearing the songs you grew up with. As you know, the Web has several sources for music, from I-Tunes to YouTube. The thing is, if you want to locate and download the files and convert them to something you can listen to, it takes time. How about going to one site, typing in the song or artist and getting the results with one click? And how about creating a playlist online so you can access it anytime, anywhere and save your hard drive space? Fizy compiles audio from around the Net into a database from which you can create your own playlists. It’s fast and boasts a huge catalog. Simple profile pages allow you to not only create a playlist but share it. Then your Twitter or email friends can get a report of the songs you listened to. Oh, yea, it includes a shuffle function so you don’t always get the same songs played in the same order whenever you start your playlist. Just sign up and search. It’s free because the site is sponsored by Coca-cola. http://fizy.com/ Here’s my sample mini-playlist … http://jimonline.fizy.com/#default

Kate Russell of Webscape wrote … Installing the desktop of your dreams is only a few clicks away. This not only has an amazing assortment of styles and images for you to download, but it also works out all the dimensions and details for you. At Desktopnexus, browse the images by category from the galleries – there are more than 100,000 to choose from, so browsing them can be a journey in its own right! When you see an image you like, click the thumbnail to open it up, and then click Enlarge Wallpaper to see how it will look resized for your machine. http://www.desktopnexus.com/

Individuality certainly is important with this next Website. My son-in-law sent to me an address to a site where you can create your own handwriting font for use on your PC or Mac computer. And there is no software required. With fontcapture, simply print out, complete, and scan the font template. Remember that it’s still in beta and there has been an issue that they write about in their blog you’ll find on the Website. But for the most part, you should be able to just follow the easy to understand instructions and create a font in your own handwriting. The Website also gives you instructions on placing the font into your computer’s Fonts folder. Thanks, Rich … http://www.fontcapture.com/

<===HuMoR===>
While driving in the car with my son, I had an “oldies” radio station on. It played a song that I remembered from the 1960’s.
“You know, Ron, this song was on when I was in bed with a broken leg when I was young.”
“Gee, Mom, that’s too bad,” he replied. “You couldn’t even get up to turn it off.”
(thanks, Toni)
+++++++++++++++++++++
There is an old story about a mother who walks in on her 6 year-old son and finds him sobbing. “What’s the matter?” she asks.
“I’ve just figured out how to tie my shoes.”
“Well, Honey, that’s wonderful.” Being a wise mother, she recognized his victory in the struggle of autonomy versus doubt: “You’re growing up, but why are you crying?”
“Because,” he says, “now I’ll have to do it every day for the rest of my life.”
(thanks, Nancy)
+++++++++++++++++++++
A lady went to a pet shop.
“I’d like to buy two yellow canaries,” she told the owner.
“We don’t have any canaries, but we have these,” the owner said, as he showed the lady some pale green parakeets.
“That’s not what I’m looking for,” the lady stated.
But the pet store owner refused to give up. He said, “Just think of them as yellow canaries that aren’t quite ripe yet.”
(thanks, Tim)
+++++++++++++++++++++
Hymn #365
A minister was completing a temperance sermon. With great emphasis he said, ‘If I had all the beer in the world, I’d take it and pour it into the river.’
With even greater emphasis he said, ‘And if I had All the wine in the world, I’d take it and pour it into the river.’
And then finally, shaking his fist in the air, he Said, ‘And if I had all the whiskey in the world, I’d take it and pour it into the river.’
Sermon complete, he sat down.
The song leader stood very cautiously and announced with a smile, nearly laughing, ‘For our closing song, Let us sing Hymn #365, ‘Shall We Gather at the River.’
(thanks, Frank)
====================
Have a great weekend, whether it’s sunny or rainy. Remember, it’s always balmy and warm on the internet. Until next weekend, may God continue to bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

