Jim’s WebLetter for 10/31/09

Jim’s WebLetter

Hi-ya neighbors and friends!

This week, Blackberry released an update for their Storm phones. BlackBerry Storm – MR3 (5.0) Software Release has improved the performance of my Storm in so many ways, I have decided to hang on to the phone. Among the many improvements, faster response to clicks, and special effects commonly found in Apple iPhones. I did have to reinstall a few of my applications including Facebook, but when I did, FB integrated into the system to the point that, when I make calls to people in my Facebook group, their account picture shows on my phone while I talk to them. And that’s just one of the improved features on my Blackberry Facebook. Overall, there is greater intuitiveness with my phone. When I reinstalled my Google apps, Sync the program that links the Calendar, jumped into play and instantly updated my phone. And that Blackberry calendar is equally improved with slicker features. Overall, I have to say timing on the update was perfect. The new Storm 2 is due to be released in a few days with Wi-Fi and smoother applications, but I’m happy with this improved smartphone.

Some weeks Google has so many things going on, I could write a book. Take for instance a new layer that has been added to their Map system for real estate. When you bring up a map location, click the “More” button at the top of a map (near the satellite imagery or terrain maps buttons) and select real estate. Immediately, the available listings become visible on the map. Click any red “pin” and you’ll see the address, get driving directions, etc. Click the “more info” link to see all the information about the property. http://www.google.com/maps

Also this week, Google Voice now offers a lighter version of it’s call system for people who are willing to trade some features for the ability to use their existing numbers. If, like me, you already have a Google Voice account, you can add Google voicemail to any mobile phone you’ve linked to your account. Not yet using Google Voice? You can request an invite … it is totally worth a try. http://www.google.com/googlevoice/about.html

Have you ever booked a flight only to have the ticket price go down days after you purchased? Bing’s Travel site is like any other useful fare comparison site, but what’s different is they have a “Price Predictor”. This tool estimates by percentage if they think the ticket will be going up down, or if you’re going to get the better deal now. After you decide to purchase, it takes you directly to the ticket vendor so there is no extra fee. http://www.bing.com/travel

Last week I reported about YouTube streaming the U2 concert as they appeared in the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. That broadcast netted 10 million streams. The replay that features good quality sound as well as video is available on the U2 Channel. http://www.youtube.com/user/U2official?feature=chclk

<===HuMoR===>
A letter I received from my son stationed in Baghdad:
Mom,
Yesterday I was part of a security detail for Kid Rock, Kellie Pickler, and comedian Lewis Black. This morning, I had breakfast with the Miami Dolphins Cheerleaders. War is hell.
Johnny
(thanks, Donna … we all support our troops, it’s just funny when one of them writes home with something like this.)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
A three-year-old had been told several times to get ready for bed. The last time his mom told him, she was every insistent. His response was, “Yes, Sir!” Since he was talking to his mother, it was not expected of him to call her “Sir”.
“You would say, ‘Yes Sir,’ to a man, I am a lady, and you would say ‘Yes Ma’am,’ to a lady,” Mom said.
To quiz him on his lesson, she then asked him, “What would you say to Daddy?”
“Yes Sir!” was the reply
“Then what would you say to Mama?”
“Yes, Ma’am!” he proudly answered.
“Good boy! Now what would you say to Grandma?”
He lit up and said, “Can I have a cookie?”
(thanks, Leslie)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
I was the nurse caring for a couple’s newborn first child, a son, after his cesarean birth. Since the mother was still asleep under general anesthesia, we took our tiny charge directly to the newborn nursery to introduce him to his daddy.
While cuddling his son for the first time, he noticed the baby’s ears conspicuously standing out from his head. He expressed his concern that some kids might call his son names like “Dumbo.”
The pediatrician reassured the new dad that his son was healthy and the ears could be easily corrected during childhood. The father still worried about his wife’s reaction to those large protruding ears. “She doesn’t take things as easily as I do,” he worried.
By this time, the new mother was ready to meet her precious son. I placed the tiny bundle in his mother’s arms and eased the blanket back so that she could gaze upon her child for the first time.
She took one look at her baby’s face and looked to her husband and gasped, “Oh, Honey! Look! He has your ears!”
(thanks, Tony)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
When hiring new staff at the public library, the head librarian always asks applicants what sort of supervision they’d be most comfortable with.
One guy answered, “I’ve always thought Superman’s X-ray vision would be cool.”
(thanks, Joanna)
=======================
That’s this week’s assortment of sites to see and jokes to share. Thanks for your time, and until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

jokes

Leave a Reply

