Jim’s WebLetter for 12/12/09

Hi-ya neighbors and friends! It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that winter has already arrived in the US what with record sized snow storms up north and west and rainy cool weather in the south. Today it’s suppose to be rainy and cool all day here on the island. Glad we did our shopping online. It’s a lot easier to receive those packages from delivery at the door rather than trudging out to the store. I know that’s not great news for the brick and mortar stores unless they have an ecommerce website. Latest figures show that more people like me are taking to the Web for shopping. Times are changing. After all, if you can believe this … we are finishing up our first decade of the new millenium. And with it are new things happening in the tech world. That’s what I write about and what I have to show you in this week’s edition of JWL.

Ever heard the term, “monkey see, monkey do”? That’s the premise of the site Monkey See. Based on videos, the site is a how-to on just about every subject. If there’s something new you need to learn, find the best instructional videos for things like hanging Christmas lights or teaching a dog to walk on a leash. All you do is select the category you’re seeking instruction in. If that wasn’t easy enough, you can also check out their recommended section which breaks everything down by most often searched topics. If you think you have what it takes to make an instructional video, click on the ‘become an expert’ button to submit your own helpful video. http://www.monkeysee.com/

As you may surmise from the previous site, videos are what everyone wants to watch on the internet. Matter of fact, 2010 is going to be the year for the video. As if things weren’t big enough at YouTube, now every major broadcast firm is pushing their programming online and Web entities like Ustream and JustinTV which offer free places for people to set up their own video broadcast streams are growing bigger by the minute. Joining that are Facebook and Twitter users who capable of attaching videos to their free accounts.

This week, iPhone announced it’s finally onboard with live streaming with the help of Ustream Live Broadcaster making the phone a source for broadcasting live video. It is part of huge list of cellphones which can download and install QIK or Ustream software and, after signing up for a free account, provide “at-that-moment” streaming of video. This will result in what I believe will be a change in the way we see events as they happen. News agencies will adopt such methods to provide live coverage of the news worldwide. It’s certainly a far cry from the old “send a reporter into the field to report the news” method of reporting as everyone will become a reporter of events they are witnessing. http://www.techcrunch.com/2009/12/09/iphone-live-streaming-ustream/

As I reported last week, I have Windows 7 installed in my laptop and am loving it. Last week I talked about the Speech Recognition feature which allows me to tell the computer what to do as well as take dictation. This week, there is a Gadgets feature that allows me to install a clock, weather bug and more than a dozen other little helps on the screen with a link to download hundreds of other widgets to enhance the computer experience. My favorite of the week is the Gmail Gadget that alerts me when a new message comes in. W7 users, just right click on the desktop and select Gadgets.

<===HuMoR===>
Several men are in the locker room of a golf club. A cell phone on a bench rings and a man engages the hands free speaker function and begins to talk. Everyone else in the room stops to listen.
MAN: “Hello”
WOMAN: “Honey, it’s me. Are you at the club?”
MAN: “Yes”
WOMAN: “I am at the mall now and found this beautiful leather coat. It’s only $1,000. Is it OK if I buy it?”
MAN: “Sure, go ahead if you like it that much.”
WOMAN: “I also stopped by the Mercedes dealership and saw the new 2009 models. I saw one I really liked.”
MAN: “How much?”
WOMAN: “$90,000”
MAN: “OK, but for that price I want it with all the options.”
WOMAN: “Great! Oh, and one more thing…the house I wanted last year is back on the market. They’re asking $950,000”
MAN: “Well, then go ahead and give them an offer of $900,000. They will probably take it. If not, we can go the extra 50 thousand if it’s really a pretty good price.”
WOMAN: “OK. I’ll see you later! I love you so much!”
MAN: “Bye! I love you, too.”
The man hangs up. The other men in the locker room are staring at him in astonishment, mouths agape.
He turns and asks: “Anyone know who this phone belongs to?”
(thanks, Rich)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
After being with her all evening, the man couldn’t take another minute with his blind date. Earlier, he had secretly arranged to have a friend call him to the phone so he would have an excuse to leave if something like this happened.
When he returned to the table, he lowered his eyes, put on a grim expression and said, “I have some bad news. My grandfather just died and I have to leave.”
“Thank heaven!” his date replied. “If yours hadn’t, mine would have had to.”
(thanks, Tony)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
Joe was a single guy, living at home with his father and working in the family business. When he found out he was going to inherit a fortune when his sick father died, he decided he needed a wife with whom to share his fortune.
One evening at an investment seminar he spotted the most beautiful woman he had ever seen. Her beauty took his breath away.
“I may look like just an ordinary man,” he said to her, “but in just a few years, my father will pass, and I’ll inherit his large fortune.”
Impressed, the woman took his business card. Three months later, she became Joe’s stepmother.
Women are so much better at estate planning than men!!
(thanks, Joe)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
We went to breakfast at a restaurant where the special was two eggs, bacon, hash browns and toast for $1.99. “Sounds good,” my wife said. “But I don’t want the eggs.”
“Then I’ll have to charge you two dollars and forty-nine cents because you’re ordering a la carte,” the waitress warned her.
“You mean I’d have to pay for NOT taking the eggs?” my wife asked incredulously. “I’ll take the special.”
“How do you want your eggs?”
“Raw and in the shell,” my wife replied. She took the two eggs home and baked a cake.
(thanks, Bill)
=======================
That’s it this week. Have a great weekend and may God bless you and keep you safe as we count down the days to Christmas and the new decade.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

