Jim’s WebLetter for 2/26/10

Hi-ya friends and neighbors!

This is the weekend of our move to our new home here on the island, so I am posting this and sending it out a day early. Saturday is going to be busy. Next weekend I will be writing from my second floor office overlooking “the pond” and enjoying the newness of a home that will give us more space and more comfort. This week, we’re living among boxes. I haven’t lived like this in years. Hopefully this will be the last time.

In this week’s JWL, the slow death of e-cards, no internet taxes in Colorado, my new Eris, what’s new at YouTube, and a photo that will break a smile. Here we go!

E-cards used to be the way to send someone a thank you, or a happy birthday. Not anymore. Matter of fact, statistics show that your chances of getting a virus attack are higher when opening one of those invitations then web surfing. In an article in Experian, Heather Dougherty writes, “…e-greetings, social networks have instead become the common place to send & post messages. While the traffic to social networks continues to climb, the market share of visits to websites in the E-Greetings has declined year-over-year each month from January 2009 through January 2010. During the two peak months for E-Greetings category, February and December, visits decreased 24% and 16%, respectively”. Seems people are catching on that the hot thing to do in the ’90’s is no longer the way to say, “It’s your day”. This also shows that social networking is becoming the primary way of communication among friends. It’s also much safer than getting an email that says, “open this from a friend”.
http://weblogs.hitwise.com/heather-dougherty/2010/02/social_networks_displacing_eca_1.html

Internet taxes have been in focus recently as states have been looking for ways to increase their plummeting income tax, property tax and sales tax revenues. One state, Colorado, has become a place for those opposing additional taxes to take note. The owner of one of the biggest shopping sites online, ShopatHome.com, outlines how they were able to keep taxes from being imposed in their state. Much of what they and others did there, isn’t out of the ordinary or even extraordinary. They just used the old axiom of, ‘politicians will listen to their constituents when enough of them have something to say’. If it worked in Colorado, which state is next?
http://www.forbes.com/2010/02/25/colorado-internet-tax-technology-business-intelligence-shopathome.html

So, I’ve had a few folks inquire as to how I’m doing with my new cellphone, the Droid Eris. Right now, I have mixed emotions. One one hand the phone is brilliant. The apps are easy to add and incorporate into the Google based phone with ease except for one … Google Voice. You would think that any app from Google would work right on the Google phone, but this one is buggy. If I turn the phone off and back on, it won’t recognize the software and it tells me that it must “force close” the software. Then I reinstall it from my apps Market and in a couple of clicks, I’m back to normal. What’s up with that, Google?

I also have a time with the battery. I can burn that thing up in a few hours in spite of the fact that I have dimmed the back lighting and use an app that effectively kills all apps I am not using at the moment. And I can’t seem to sync it up with my PC. Seems that the Eris isn’t equipped to handle Windows 7. That’s a fix needing to be created.

But the phone itself is lightweight, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth enabled, comes with a 5 megapixel camera that creates really good quality images, and provides a platform where I can text, make a call (great quality voice), and keep track of calendar dates and my stocks (which include Google), all at the same time for less than the cost of owning an iPhone (better cell coverage, too … I’ve seen the maps, AT&T). I am told by my Verizon sales guy, Conrad, that there is an upgrade coming soon that will likely fix a number of issues, so … I’m hanging in there because this phone is miles ahead of the Blackberry Storm I was toting around.

What’s new at YouTube? How about YouTube Disco?! No, it isn’t a throwback to the 70’s with gold chains and mullets, it’s a slick new feature that let’s you look up a key artist or song, then organizes the results into a playlist and begins playing them, one after the other. Then you can mix and match songs in your playlist. It’s YT’s way to keeping you on the site longer, but what a way to do it! I guess you can tell I’m a fan of YouTube. Between the shows and movies I can watch, and music I can find, it’s a headlined bookmark on my Firefox browser. http://www.youtube.com/

OK, a photo has been posted of a dog wearing a lobster costume. I don’t know who posted it. It doesn’t matter. It’s gonna make you laugh … http://i.imgur.com/ALdTv.jpg

<===HuMoR===>
I was driving my father and grandfather down a rough country road. My inexperience in handling Grandpa’s four-wheel-drive vehicle made for a particularly bouncy ride.
Embarrassed, I offered a lame excuse, “The sun shadows through the trees make it hard for me to see all the potholes.”
“Don’t worry,” Grandpa said. “You’re gettin’ most of ’em.”
(thanks, Daryl)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
A young clergyman, fresh out of seminary, thought it would help him better understand the fears and temptations his future congregations faced if he first took a job as a policeman for several months.
He passed the physical examination; then came the oral exam to test his ability to act quickly and wisely in an emergency. Among other questions he was asked, “What would you do to disperse a frenzied crowd?”
He thought for a moment and then replied, “I would take up a collection.”
(Thanks, Robin)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
Useful Phrases for High Stress Days

* Do I really look like a people person?
* Can I trade this job for what’s behind door #2?
* And your cry-baby whiny opinion would be…?
* I’m not crazy, I’ve just been in a very bad mood for 30 years.
* Sarcasm is just one more service we offer.
* Do they ever shut up on your planet?
* Did the aliens forget to remove the probe?
* Earth is full. Go home.
* Aw, did I step on your poor little bitty ego?
* I’m not tense, just terribly, terribly alert.
(thanks, Robert)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
Summer was over and the teacher was asking the class about their vacations.
She turned to little Johnny and asked what he did over the Summer. “We visited my grandmother in Minneapolis, Minnesota,” he said.
“That sounds like an excellent vocabulary word,” the teacher said, “Can you tell the class how you spell that?”
Little Johnny thought about it and said, “Come to think of it, she lives in Ohio.”
(thanks, Jenny)
=======================
Well, that’s it this week, Webfriends. Have a great weekend. You know I will be busy. And until next week, when I write from my new office overlooking the pond, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

