Jim’s WebLetter for 5/15/10

Hi-ya worldwide Web friends!

It’s Saturday morning and as I watch the day breaking from my second floor room, I am reflecting on the past week while working on the Web. Here are a few of the highlights …

Facebook friends and users, there’s a new feature you’ll want to include in your account. With all the stuff the FB people have been putting on and changing without our permission, you would think they’d include this one … you can be notified if someone tries to hack your account. Samuel Axon of Mashable has the steps to turn on and monitor the feature. Take a moment and do this. It may save you problems later on … http://mashable.com/2010/05/13/facebook-hacked-profile-steps/

With all the hype about the Apple iPad, now having sold over a million units, the question is, “who’s next?”. Well, Verizon CEO Lowell McAdam spilled the beans this week by announcing they are working with Google on a tablet but didn’t elaborate on when it would be released, what features will be included and how much it’ll cost. Hey Lowell, can you say, “jumping the gun”? Shoot, the New York Times reported last month that Google was working on a tablet, so what’s new? CNET’s Tom Krazit reports that Google’s not saying anything else. Speculation is that it will run on the Android system and that HTC may be a maker. I, for one, am waiting. I like my Droid Eris phone running on the Android system and would like to see what it would be like on a tablet PC. Here’s Tom’s report … http://news.cnet.com/8301-30684_3-20004731-265.html?tag=nl.e496

There are so many reasons to use Firefox that I actually have to have an excuse for opening my Google Chrome browser. But now, there is a new extension you can quickly add and use with Chrome that makes using the browser more worthwhile. It’s a notepad. Once installed, you click on the icon in the top bar to open it whenever you want to take notes. You can click from page to page and it remains on the top right side. And it integrates into your Google Documents account when you’re through note taking. If you’re writing a report, or accessing document information from several sources, you can use the notepad to keep references and links without having to add them to your favorites.
https://chrome.google.com/extensions/detail/kodgendbhboaendecabighpnngpodeij

Speaking of Google, and I often do, the world’s top searcher will begin letting users run encrypted searches on its flagship search site Google.com starting next week, the company said in a blog post Thursday. This will allow you to search using https – the web security system which many associate with online banking and shopping. Read more about it on Wired.com … http://www.wired.com/#ixzz0nzoTMX6G

Remember the movie “That Thing You Do” with Tom Hanks as the record promoter? (Cir. 1996) There were so many good songs in that movie, I decided to do a search in YouTube and, sure enough, the original recordings that were used in the movie are there. Songs like “Mr Downtown” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YjirIGOysug), “Shrimp Shack” performed by Cap’n Geech & the Shrimp Shack Shooters (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dF5UiuIvW2I) and “That Thing You Do” are listed and sound great. Isn’t it amazing what you can find on Google’s YouTube? Check this one … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPMLG8mnCRM (notice on the right column there is a version with the words).

<===HuMoR===>
THIS IS WHAT JEFF FOXWORTHY HAS TO SAY ABOUT ‘LIVING IN WASHINGTON STATE!’
If you’ve worn shorts, sandals and a parka at the same time, you live in Washington.
If you’ve had a lengthy telephone conversation with someone who dialed the wrong number, you live in Washington.
If you measure distance in hours, you live in Washington.
If you design your kid’s Halloween costume to fit over 2 layers of clothes or under a raincoat, you live in Washington.
If driving is better in the winter because the potholes are filled with snow and ice, you live in Washington.
If you know all 4 seasons: almost winter, winter, still winter, and road construction, you live in Washington.
If you consider that if it has no snow or has not recently erupted, it is not a real mountain, you live in Washington.
If you can taste the difference between Starbucks, Seattle’s Best, and Tullys, you live in Washington.
If you know the difference between Chinook, Coho and Sockeye salmon, you live in Washington.
If you know how to pronounce Sequim, Puyallup, Abiqua, Issaquah, Snoqualamie,Wenatchee, Spokane, Umpqua, Yakima and Willamette, you live in Washington.
If you never go camping without waterproof matches and a poncho, you live in Washington.
If you think people who use umbrellas are either wimps or tourists, you live in Washington.
If you actually understand these jokes and forward them to all your Washington friends, you live or have lived in Washington.
(thanks, Don … he knows I used to live there)
+++++++++++++++++++
My husband and I took our two-year-old daughter to the home-improvement store. Madison got tired of walking, so my husband let her ride on his shoulders. As he walked, Madison began pulling his hair. Although he asked her to stop several times, she kept on. Getting annoyed, he scolded, “Madison! Stop that!”
“But, Daddy,” she replied, “I’m just trying to get my gum back.”
(thanks, Kelly)
+++++++++++++++++++
Rushing to work, I was driving too fast and as a result was pulled over by the highway patrol. The state trooper noticed that my shirt had the name of a local high school on it. “I teach math there,” I explained.
The trooper smiled, and said, “Okay, here’s a problem. A teacher is speeding down the highway at 16 m.p.h. over the limit. At $12 for every mile, plus $40 court costs, plus the rise in her insurance, what’s her total cost?”
I replied, “Taking that total, subtracting the low salary I receive, multiplying by the number of kids who hate math, then adding to that the fact that none of us would be any- where without teachers, I’d say zero.”
He handed me back my license. “Math was never my favorite subject,” he admitted. “Please slow down.”
(thanks, Steve)
+++++++++++++++++++
As the owner of an old clunker, I was used to dealing with a variety of car breakdowns. One day at the supermarket, just after I had filled my trunk with groceries, I noticed a stream of fluid leaking out of the bottom of the car. I knew I had to get home before the car was once again out of action.
When I arrived I asked my husband to take a look at the problem. Expecting the worst, I braced myself for his diagnosis.
When he came back in, he was smiling. “It’s apple juice,” he said.
(thanks, Jennifer … by the way, how did he know it was juice? oh, right.)
===================
And that’s the week’s look at Webstuff. Hope you enjoy the music, the sites and the jokes. Don, I got your back. Until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

