Jim’s WebLetter for 7/10/10

Hi-ya Web friends and explorers!

It’s Saturday morning and time for me to check in with you with the latest discoveries I have come across on the World Wide Wow. And I do mean, “wow” as just this week, several things have been launched for our enjoyment and amusement.

Among them, YouTube has released “Leanback” which, in effect is their form of TV on your TV. Just sit back, relax and be entertained. Videos tailored to your interests play as soon as you visit the site and they play in full screen and high definition, continuously. There’s no need to click, search, or browse, unless you want to, of course. Watching YouTube becomes as easy as watching TV. By the way, if you don’t have internet connected to your TV yet, that’s ok … the feature also works on your computer, and there’s a version for mobile phones, too. All you need is an account … http://www.youtube.com/leanback

At the same time, Google has created an account in YouTube worth $5 million to finance original videos created by some of it’s biggest contributors. Looks like they’re interested in beefing up the quality of their content for the Leanback feature, doesn’t it? http://adage.com/digital/article?article_id=144856

And while on the subject of Google, the Android system used in phones like mine, now has a new application available called ‘Open Spot’ that lets users leaving parking spots share their spots with other users searching for parking. According to The Next Web’s Chad Catacchio, “Open Spot has three degrees applied to a parking spot based on the amount of time since it was marked as open with red pins for new open spots, orange for spots that have been open for over five minutes and yellow for over ten”. It’s a great way to use social networking to find a place to park, and anyone who’s been downtown in cities like Jacksonville know, finding a place to park can be difficult. http://openspot.googlelabs.com/index.html

Summertime typically means travel time and the website called iwannagothere (that’s I wanna go there) is one site you should check before making plans. This is a place for those who have been and leave photos and comments about where they were. Here you can get ideas for places to visit, best deals on restaurants, hang outs, and transportation. You can select from those places listed (Find Inspiration) or use the search engine to find what you’re looking for. Their slogan is “this is travel, not tourism”. http://iwannagothere.com/

PBS Kids has a website which is updated regularly and has such a large selection, your child will find hours of pleasure while learning at the same time. If they watch it on TV, they should be enjoying it on the Web … http://pbskids.org/

<===HuMoR===>
My 12-year-old daughter asked me, “Mom, do you have a baby picture of yourself? I need it for a school project.”
I gave her one without thinking to ask what the project was. A few days later I was in her classroom for a parent-teacher meeting when I noticed my face pinned to a mural the students had created.
The title of their project was “The oldest thing in my house.”
(thanks for sharing, Rebecca)
+++++++++++++++++++
A wise old gentleman retired and purchased a modest home near a junior high school. He spent the first few weeks of his retirement in peace and contentment. Then the new school year began.
The very next afternoon three young boys, full of youthful after- school enthusiasm, came down his street, beating merrily on every trash can they encountered. The crashing percussion continued day after day, until finally the wise old man decided it was time to take some action.
The following afternoon, he walked out to meet the young percussionists as they banged their way down the street. Stopping them, he said, “You kids are a lot of fun. I like to see you express your exuberance like that. Used to do the same thing when I was your age. Will you do me a favor? I’ll give you each a dollar if you’ll promise to come around every day and do your thing.”
The kids were elated and continued to do a bang-up job on the trash cans.
After a few days, the old-timer greeted the kids again, but this time he had a sad smile on his face. “This recession is really putting a big dent in my income,” he told them. “From now on, I’ll only be able to pay you 50 cents to beat on the cans.”
The noisemakers were obviously displeased, but they did accept his offer and continued their afternoon ruckus.
A few days later, the wily retiree approached them again as they drummed their way down the street. “Look,” he said, “I haven’t received my Social Security check yet, so I’m not going to be able to give you more than 25 cents. Will that be okay?”
“A lousy quarter?” the drum leader exclaimed. “If you think we’re going to waste our time, beating these cans around for a quarter, you’re nuts! No way, mister. We quit!”
And the wise old man enjoyed peace and serenity for the rest of his days.
(thanks, Andy)
+++++++++++++++++++
The clerk in a shoe store was trying hard to persuade his customer that a pair of uncomfortable shoes fit her.
“I’m telling you, these shoes are too pointed and too narrow,” argued the customer.
“But, madam,” replied the salesman, “everyone is wearing narrow, pointed shoes this season.”
“That may be,” countered the customer, “but I’m still wearing my last season’s feet.”
(thanks, Tim)
+++++++++++++++++++
A blind man was describing his favorite sport, parachuting. When asked how this was accomplished, he said that things were all done for him: “I am placed in the door with my seeing eye dog and told when to jump. My hand is placed on my release ring for me and out I go with the dog.”
“But how do you know when you are going to land?” he was asked. “I have a very keen sense of smell, and I can smell the trees and grass when I am 300 feet from the ground” he answered.
“But how do you know when to lift your legs for the final arrival on the ground?” he was again asked. He quickly answered: “Oh, the dog’s leash goes slack.”
(thanks, Randy)
===================
And it’s about this time I see the sun’s coming up over the pond and I’ve got things to do. Have a great weekend, Web folks, and until next … May God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

