Jim’s WebLetter for 9/11/10

Hi-ya Webfriends!

It’s hard to believe it’s been nine years since 9-11 got the name “9-11”. Even though it’s been that long, it’s not so long that we don’t remember where we were when we heard the reports and saw the planes. When we thought that could never happen to us, it did. Now, nine years later, plans for a 9/11 Memorial are well underway. The Website has details, pictures and artist renditions of how it will look because, we should never forget … http://www.national911memorial.org/
Joe Daniels, president and CEO of the National September 11th Memorial, took Fox News’ Shepard Smith on a tour of the museum site … http://video.foxnews.com/v/4331176/tour-of-911-museum-site

As you know, I discover things on the World Wide Web and report them to you. Some things are well known, others, not so much. But when Google announced it changed it’s method of searches, EVERYONE knew about it the instant it happened. I don’t have to ask if you’ve tried it, all I have to say is searching with Google’s new “Instant” engine does, in fact, speed up searches. Now it seems that Google also put the same type of search on YouTube. Begin typing your search and it gives you the most likely responses. http://www.youtube.com

Something else that works great is the new update to the Android Google Maps application. Just enter the address of where you’re trying to go, choose the “Walking” option from the navigation icon and the app will guide you, following along and vibrating when you reach the next turn (that is so cool!). The map even rotates as you turn the phone, orienting the map to the direction you’re facing. Android phone users, just visit the Market Place and download the Google Maps app for free and be sure you get the update. This thing rocks.

Did you hear about the thieves in Nashua, New Hampshire who targeted people who checked into places on Facebook, alerting them when they were not home? The police caught them after they broke into 50 homes and stole $100,000 worth of goods. What does this mean? If you’re going on vacation or will be away from the home for an extended period of time, don’t tell everyone on Facebook. You never know if one of your friends is a friend of someone who is looking to take advantage.

Who doesn’t take photos? But wouldn’t it be nice to add some effects to them and make them even better? Take a look at Tuxpi.com where 42 photo effects are waiting for your uploaded picture. You’ll find standard style effects, but there are a few extras thrown in, like making a wanted poster (funny!). Here’s a tip, scroll to the bottom of the page and find the link “Create a newspaper”. With that feature, you fill in the form and it creates a newspaper picture file. http://www.tuxpi.com/

<===HuMoR===>
The first time I met my wife, she was an intense aerobics instructor at my health club and I was an out-of-shape new member. After one grueling workout, I gasped, “This is really helping me get toned.” She looked me up and down. Feeling self-conscious, I added, “Big men run in my family.”
She raised an eyebrow. “Apparently not enough.”
(thanks, Reg)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
Driving along an outback road in Australia, I spied an exotic bird flying overhead. The creature was black, with a huge and striking red-and-gold beak.
“Hey, look! A toucan!” I yelled.
“Toucan nothin’,” said the Aussie passenger. “It’s a crow with its beak stuck in a McDonald’s fries carton.”
(thanks, Betsy)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
Recently, my husband put his car in reverse and accidentally drove it into a wall. He took it to his mechanic, who replaced the dented bumper.
A few days later, he did it again. “I’m so embarrassed,” he moaned, reaching for the phone.
“Why not tell him it was me this time?” I suggested.
“Maybe I will,” he said while dialing. “It worked the last time.”
(thanks, Dee)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
Dispatcher: 9-1-1
Caller: Yeah, I’m having trouble breathing. I’m all out of breath. Darn … I think I’m going to pass out.
Dispatcher: Sir, where are you calling from?
Caller: I’m at a pay phone. North and Foster.
Dispatcher: Sir, an ambulance is on the way. Are you an asthmatic?
Caller: No
Dispatcher: What were you doing before you started having trouble breathing?
Caller: Running from the Police.
(thanks, David)
=======================
Today is Upward Basketball evaluations at my church as we begin a new year of b-ball for kids. And again this year, we’ll be broadcasting the games on the internet for folks to watch. Should be another great season! Have a great weekend, and may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

