Jim’s WebLetter for 10/16/10

Hi-ya neighbors and friends!

What beautiful weather we’re having here on the island! Saturday is one to be out as the annual car show is taking place downtown all day. Lots of great looking cars for everyone to see. I took photos of several of the cars and will be putting them up on my Fernandina Living page today (www.FernandinaLiving.com).

From the Web world, lots to talk about as more people and their businesses are getting involved with using the internet to attract more business. Take for instance the story in the New York Times about how businesses are adding the human factor in their website and even expanding to include live features and demonstrations. Truly we have become a social society online. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/14/business/smallbusiness/14sbiz.html?_r=1&ref=technology

Because of the acceptance of Twitter, YouTube and Facebook, businesses are discovering that commercials can be created for less money. For instance, Coke created a video just for YouTube for a percentage of the cost of a regular commercial, and it was so popular, it was turned into a TV commercial and run in Europe … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqT_dPApj9U

Last week my wife and I saw the movie “The Social Network” … a story of how Facebook was begun. Eduardo Saverin, Co-Founder of Facebook remarked on the movie in a story on CNBC’s website. In his comments, he hit on a telling factor dealing with the creation of Facebook. He said, “As the web increasingly democratizes innovation and costs decrease, anyone can showcase a product”. This should stand as an inspiration to anyone who has an idea and wants to use the internet as means for promotion. http://www.cnbc.com/id/39675388

Speaking of Facebook, this week they rolled out a new service that provides you a one-time password to enter your account. Perfect for the person who uses open WiFi in a cafe or airport. To use it, users must list their mobile phone numbers with their Facebook accounts. They can then text the letters “otp” to the number 32665 from their phones. Facebook sends back a temporary password that is good for 20 minutes. http://www.goodgearguide.com.au/article/364110/thwart_keyloggers_facebook_introduces_one-time_passwords/

<===HuMoR===>
A Lieutenant, a Colonel, and a Sergeant Major were all killed in a common disaster, and arrived in Heaven together, where they were met by St. Peter.
St. Peter asked them, “What would you like the people on Earth to say about you?”
The Lieutenant said, “I would like them to say I was a great family man and an inspiration to my children.”
The Colonel said, “I would like them to say I was a great military leader.”
The Sergeant Major said, “I would like them to say, ‘Look! He’s moving!”
(thanks, Erica)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
A schoolteacher was taking her first golfing lesson.
“Is the word spelled p-u-t or p-u-t-t?” she asked the instructor.
“P-u-t-t is correct,” he replied. “Put means to place a thing where you want it. Putt means merely a vain attempt to do the same thing.”
(thanks, Larry)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
My mother is always trying to understand what motivates people, especially those in her family. One day she and my sister were talking about one relative’s bad luck. “Why do you suppose she changed jobs?” Mother asked my sister. “Maybe she has a subconscious desire not to succeed.”
“Or maybe it just happened,” said my sister, exasperated. “Do you know you analyze everything to death?”
Mother was silent for a moment. “That’s true,” she said. “Why do you think I do that?”
(thanks, Bobbi)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
I discussed peer pressure and cigarettes with my 12-year-old daughter. Having struggled for years to quit, I described how I had started smoking to “be cool.”
As I outlined the arguments kids might make to tempt her to try it, she stopped me mid-lecture, saying, “Hey, I’ll just tell them my mom smokes. How cool can it be?”
(thanks, Judi)
=======================
Well, that’s what’s on the Web this week, Webfriends. Have a great weekend may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

