Jim’s WebLetter for 11/13/10

Hi-ya neighbors and friends!

It has become widely known that there is no love between Facebook and Google. One has been at the other for some time now, particularly since Facebook amassed some 500 million users. Now reports are showing that Facebook is about to launch a webmail project that has been called the “Gmail Killer”. Project Titan has been around for some time but Facebook’s Mark Zuckerberg has taken his time perfecting the service until now. Look for it’s launch the first of the week …
http://venturebeat.com/2010/11/12/facebook-to-launch-gmail-killer-webmail-on-monday/

This past week, maybe as a means of keeping everyone happy, Google CEO Eric Schmidt announced that all employees would be receiving a $1000 holiday bonus and a 10% raise across the board beginning January 1st, 2011. http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-20022318-93.html

And what’s going on with AOL? Looks like they’re planning on releasing the new version of their mail system on Sunday. The new webmail is being called faster and for those signing up, they offer a variety of domain names to choose from. http://techcrunch.com/2010/11/12/aol-to-unveil-new-aol-mail-on-sunday/

Two of my readers, Bill and Pieter, each told me about a website where you can easily create videos based on text you write. The site is Xtranormal.com and simply, you become the director to 3-D characters. The ease with which anyone can jump in and start making their own movies is pretty amazing. All you have to do is pick the setting, whether you want just one or two characters, and then start typing in the lines. You can spice it up by adding different animations, different voices, all kinds of things and you can save your movies and share them as long as you signed up for an account. Signing up is quick and easy and all you have to give them is an email address so you aren’t signing your life away. Give it a try and see what you can create. http://www.Xtranormal.com

Finally, imagine flying back into your home town airport and being met with a large number of singers welcoming you back. Here’s an ad from T-mobile shot in Heathrow Airport. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NB3NPNM4xgo

<===HuMoR===>
I sent my newly licensed 16 year-old son to pick up a pizza. I handed him a $20 bill, a $5.00 coupon and sent him on his way.
About forty minutes later, the boy returned home with the pizza … and the coupon!
I asked the obvious question, “Why didn’t you use the coupon?”
“Dad, I had enough money. I didn’t need the coupon.”
(thanks, Ron)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
A father was showing his young son the family photo album and came across a picture of himself and his wife on their wedding day.
“Was that the day Mommy came to work for us?” the son asked.
(thanks, Evelyn)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
It was time for my dog’s annual checkup. Following the vet’s instructions, I collected a stool sample and dropped it in a plastic container before we left for his office. When we arrived, I handed the sample to the receptionist, who immediately cracked a smile. The container read “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter.”
(thanks, Jesse)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
I returned home from my ninth business trip of the year with a severe bout of jet lag–induced foot-in-mouth disease. As we prepared to go to sleep that night, I wrapped my arms around my better half, gave her a kiss, and announced, “It’s good to be in my own bed, with my own wife!”
(thanks, Mario)
=======================
So I hope you enjoy your weekend and may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

