Jim’s WebLetter for 1/22/11

Hi-ya Webfriends!

This week, I have been discovering interesting websites that have made their way onto the World Wide Web. Take for instance the flash-generated website Waterlife. This fascinating display for the Canadian documentary film of the same name offers a wonderful preview of the lush cinematography and storytelling found in the film. Notice how the navigation system seems to emulate the gentle motion of water. Just a notice, you may spend quite a bit of time on this site as it has a lot to offer. Enjoy! http://waterlife.nfb.ca/

My how times have changed. In recent years, Christmas meant PC purchases because of lower prices coming at the end of the year and new innovations coming up in the new year. But Christmas 2010 was different. Matter of fact, PC sales slipped because the demand for tablets has increased. In the article from the Statesman, it seems that consumers are growing tired of the PC and want something new. http://www.statesman.com/business/technology/pc-shipments-slow-as-demand-for-tablets-grows-1181526.html

Speaking of PCs, have you noticed that your computer has been running slower? It is not uncommon to find that the longer you own your PC that things get cluttered, and therefore takes longer for the processor to figure out what it is you want to accomplish. How Life Works has an article worth reading that includes links to programs that will aid in cleaning up your computer and bring it back to the way it used to run. http://www.howlifeworks.com/technology/faster_pc_V2/?AG_ID=333&CID=7077ag

Finally and from the bizarre world of Japanese fads comes LED teeth attachments. Put them in your mouth, and they light up and change colors when you smile. The new fashion accessories were originally created as an experiment by two Japanese designers and are now being used in a commercial advertising a winter sale at a Japanese clothing store, Laforet Harajuku. They are quickly becoming a sought after accessory. No, really! http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/01/21/new-japanese-fashion-l-e-d-lights-for-your-teeth/?ref=technology

<===HuMoR===>
I took a couple of minutes from work to give my wife a call. She put my two-year-old son on, and we chatted a while before he ended it with an enthusiastic “I love you!”
“I love you too,” I said, with a dopey grin plastered on my face. I was about to hang up when I heard him ask sweetly, “Mommy, who was that?”
(thanks, Robert)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
An amateur pilot wannabe, I knew I’d finally made progress with my flight training the day my instructor turned to me and said, “You know, you’re not as much fun since you stopped screaming.”
(thanks, Barbara)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
Father’s Day was near when I brought my three-year-old son to the card store. Inside, I showed him the cards for dads and told him to pick one.
When I looked back, he was picking up one card after another, opening them up and quickly shoving them back into slots every which way. “What are you doing?” I asked. “Haven’t you found a nice card for Daddy yet?”
“No. I’m looking for one with money in it.”
(thanks, Karen)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
The telephone solicitor selling basement waterproofing must have thought she’d died and gone to heaven when she got my very patient son on the phone.
At the end of her very long sales pitch, she asked, “Do you mind if we send someone out to give you an estimate?”
“Not at all,” my son said.
“When would be a good time?”
“As soon as I dig a basement,” he replied.
(thanks, Jack)
=======================
So have a great weekend, look for more from me next weekend, and may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

