Jim’s WebLetter for 4-9-11

Hi-ya WebLetter readers!

This week, YouTube announced YouTube Live, a new portal that will highlight live video streaming from “trusted user accounts”. According to the Google blog, “the goal is to provide thousands of partners with the capability to live stream from their channels in the months ahead … in order to ensure a great live stream viewing experience, we’ll roll this offering out incrementally over time.” They have already extended the length and size of videos uploaded to the site. Now, the prospect of live casts of events worldwide, makes YouTube that much more attractive. http://www.YouTube.com

In a category all it’s own, Britain’s Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (otherwise known as the RSA) delivers a series of cleverly animated talks to really bring a topic to life in RSA Animates. These cleverly drawn animations help to teach and inform you of the different studies that have been conducted over the years. But when you watch the study come alive in hastily, well-drawn, animation … well, you will find this quite amazing. There is also an application for iPhones and Android phones. http://comment.rsablogs.org.uk/videos/

Is the cost of tablet PCs already coming down? This week, Acer announced it will be selling it’s new Honeycomb enabled tablet for $449.99 at Best Buy. With bells and whistles like the Android 3.0 system, a gig of memory, 16 gig harddrive, two cameras (front and back), flash support, Bluetooth and wifi, this could begin the price wars that will only be an advantage for those of us who wait. Best Buy is taking orders this week and the tablet is due in stores on the 24th. http://mashable.com/2011/04/08/acer-iconia-tab-a500/

I have an android phone. One of the new apps I have is a freebie called “Ringdroid” which allows me to create ringtones from just about anything. If I hear a sound, I can capture it, edit it, and save it as a ringtone. How often have you been in a room of phone users only to have one receive a call and everyone reach for their phones, just to find it’s not their phone ringing. With Ringdroid, I have my own ringtone, so I will always know it’s my phone ringing (others around me will know it’s not theirs, too). In my case, it’s my voice announcing that I have a phone call. http://code.google.com/p/ringdroid/

<===HuMoR===>
I was in the band at Ellsworth Air Force Base, South Dakota. Our group was required to play for all generals who arrived on our base.
One morning, when our commanding officer heard on the radio that a General Frost was expected just after noon, he sent us scrambling to the flight line with instruments.
One of the musicians had also heard the radio announcement. He took the C.O. aside for a whispered conference. When they returned, the officer told us the performance was canceled. There was no arriving general.
We had almost played for the weather forecast.
(thank you, former Airman Jeffries)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
A police car pulls up in front of Grandma Bessie’s house, and Grandpa Morris gets out.
The polite policeman explained that this elderly gentleman said that he was lost in the park … and couldn’t find his way home.
“Oh Morris,” said Grandma, “You’ve been going to that park for over 30 years! So how could you get lost?”
Leaning close to Grandma, so that the policeman couldn’t hear. Morris whispered, “I wasn’t lost … I was just too tired to walk home.”
(thanks, Tim)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
My husband and I both look very young for our ages. In fact, we’ve hardly aged a day since we first laid eyes on each other in college — at least, that’s what we tell each other. Our children have a way of bringing us crashing back to earth.
Recently, my husband and I were discussing a man who was running for public office.
“He’s a Vietnam Vet,” commented my husband.
“What’s that?” queried our young daughter.
Trying to answer the question in terms a four-year-old could readily grasp, my husband replied, “Well, Honey, that means that the man fought in a war that happened when Mommy and Daddy were little.”
Our daughter regarded us both thoughtfully for a moment, then asked “So, was he a Viking?”
(thanks, Kathy)
=======================
Have a great weekend and let me know if you find something to share with everyone in the WebLetter group. I’ll be happy to send it along and give you the credit. Til next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

