Jim’s WebLetter for 4-16-11

Hi-ya neighbors and friends!

Over the years I have had the opportunity to write about new and upcoming Websites that became as popular as Facebook, while others were “here today and gone tomorrow”, so to speak. The beauty of the Web is that it is a place for business to begin, and over the years, millions of businesses were hatched from ideas and practical application. It is also a place for people to share their expertise with the world in such places as Wikipedia. In this week’s JWL, I have listed more info-based sites to check out and bookmark. In this first one, you may decide to spend some serious time, so grab your favorite beverage, sit in a comfortable seat, and explore more of the best of the Web …

While not totally comprehensive, here is a list of 50 things everyone should know how to do. It’s a great starting point to learn new skills as compiled by a guy who considers them “practical tips for productive living”, and I’m sure you’ll agree it’s one worth passing on to a friend … http://www.marcandangel.com/2008/06/02/50-things-everyone-should-know-how-to-do/

Speaking about things to do, when’s the last time you cleaned your PC? Desktop users need to know that if it’s been over a year since it was opened up and blown out, you likely have dust bunnies in it. So in order to do it yourself, go to Lifehacker and check out the article about dust bunnies. It takes just a few minutes to perform the procedure, but if you like tinkering and want to help extend the life of the computer, check out the how-to story … http://lifehacker.com/#!153409/spring-cleaning-for-your-computer-evacuate-pc-dust-bunnies

Hate being on hold? If you’ve got better things to do with your time, try Lucy. Use this site to search for a company or toll-free number you dread calling, give Lucy a number where you can be reached, and the site does the waiting for you, giving you a ring when the line picks up. You can add companies to the list to help future callers. http://www.lucyphone.com/

The National Do Not Call registry has been out for some time now, so why hasn’t everyone listed their phone number(s) with it? It’s fast, easy and after 30 days, helps to keep the average intruder at bay. If you have several numbers, the form on the front page allows for up to three phone numbers at a time. Be sure to include your email address. Once you click the button to add your number, check your email to confirm your request. Then, bookmark this site because if you still receive annoying calls, there is a link to file a complaint. https://www.donotcall.gov/register/reg.aspx

<==HuMoR==>

A customer in the Italian restaurant was so pleased with his meal that he asked to speak to the chef. The owner proudly led him into the kitchen and introduced him to the chef.
“Your veal parmigiana was superb,” the customer said. “I just spent a month in Italy, and yours is better than any I ever had over there.”
“Naturally,” the chef said. “Over there, they use domestic cheese. Ours is imported!”
(thanks, Anne … some folks will get that much later)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
Bill and Doug went into a diner that looked as though it had seen better days. As they slid in a booth, Bill wiped some crumbs from the seat. Then he took a napkin and wiped some moisture from the table.
The waitress came over and asked if they wanted some menus.
“No thanks,” said Doug. “I’ll just have a cup of black coffee.”
“I’ll have black coffee too,” Bill said. “And please make sure the cup is clean.”
The waitress shot him a nasty look. She turned and marched off into the kitchen. Two minutes later, she was back.
“Two cups of black coffee,” she announced. “Which one of you wanted the clean cup?”
(thanks, Doug)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
Manning the computer help desk for the local school district was my first job. And though I was just an intern, I took the job very seriously. But not every caller took me seriously.
“Can I talk to a real person?” a caller asked.
“I am real,” I said.
“Oh, I’m sorry,” the caller said. “That was rude of me. What I meant to say was, could I talk to someone who actually knows something?”
(thanks, Sharon)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
A good piece of chocolate has about 200 calories. As I enjoy 2 servings per night, and a few more on weekends, I consume about 3,500 calories of chocolate in a week, which equals one pound of weight per week.
Therefore, in the last 3-1/2 years, I have had chocolate caloric intake of about 180 pounds, and I only weigh 165 pounds.
So … without chocolate, I would have wasted away to nothing about 3 months ago! I owe my life to chocolate!
(yea, thanks Max)
=======================
So that’s the WebLetter for this week, friends. If you find information or a good joke, pass it along to me and I will take a look and include it in a future JWL while giving you the credit. Fair enough? Until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

