Jim’s WebLetter for 5/21/11

Hi-ya JWL readers!

This edition of JWL will be a bit different as I explore more of the hardware side of the Web. Included is my reason for the new iPad, the Android, and App making. It’s because technology is headed that way. Websites, while still being important and even vital to the life of the internet and it’s users, are becoming more of a place to store and access what you want to keep … known as the Cloud. I think that’s where we’re going, so the type of hardware you use to access that information becomes more important than ever. See what you think …

This week, Microsoft is doing it’s best to keep the PC market alive with a new offer … starting May 22, students who buy a new PC for $699 or more will receive a free Xbox 360 4GB console. The offer is available to online shoppers who buy a PC from Dell.com, HP.com, or Microsoft’s online store. Those who want to buy from a retail outlet can find the deal at Best Buy or Microsoft’s stores. In order for students to get the free Xbox 360, they will need to have .edu e-mail address at the time of purchase. But if they don’t have a .edu e-mail address, simply visit a retail store and present their student IDs. Offer is good til September 3rd. http://techcrunch.com/2011/05/19/students-buy-a-win7-pc-get-an-xbox-360-free/

The thing is, the worldwide trend is to go mobile with smart phones getting smarter and the tablet becoming THE hardware to own. In my house, my wife has an iPad 2 and between her Droid Incredible, Kindle and iPad, she doesn’t need a laptop or big clunky PC anymore. Everything she needs or wants to do can be done with her “mini-mobile techcenter” (that’s my coined phrase – feel free to use it). So what’s to become of the desktop? I use a PC desktop at work because I need more power to edit video and use a larger screen for graphics and brochure layouts. So for that sort of work, something larger is still necessary. I use my laptop when I’m home, but I don’t carry it around everywhere I go. I have the new Droid Incredible 2 with a duo-core processor and faster operating speed (yep, tests show it’s faster than the iPhone). I have been experimenting with new applications for video chatting (QIK is fast and solid and also allows you to create videos and send them via email. Yahoo Chat isn’t so good.) and have the latest version of Angry Birds Rio (just got the new update from them this week – Birds at the beach!). That with the intuitive Google search engine, Music from Google with access to my songs in the Cloud, Facebook, Google Calendar, Maps, and Documents, along with YouTube, Skype for Android, and Tweetcast for the Twitter accounts I manage – make my phone my computer on the go. While iPhone allows you to synch with Apple stuff, Droid lets you access everything – anywhere. It’s probably why Android phones are the best selling right now.

Speaking of iPads, in a new story from CNET, reporter Scott Stein conducted an informal poll and it’s results were a bit surprising with iPad the clear winner over other tablets, laptops, netbooks and even smartphones. http://news.cnet.com/is-the-ipad-the-$500-portable-computer-of-choice/8301-17938_105-20064765-1.html?tag=mncol;txt

What I found with the iPad 2 was the number one App has to be Garageband. Android doesn’t have anything like it. You can’t find anything for laptops or PCs that equal the level that this software can do. While there are other apps that are unique in their own way, clearly the winner is this app that allows you to create music with built-in instruments or plug in and play and record onto the device with it’s 8-track recording mixer. You don’t even have to be an accomplished musician to create songs using the percussion, guitar and keyboard functions. Having been a PC user with little interest in an Apple (I still don’t want to own one) I find that the iPad 2 is a bridge from standard computer useage to the new generation of “do everything” computerization. Touche’ Apple. http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/garageband/id408709785?mt=8

But I told you I own a Droid phone … chiefly because of it’s flexability and a multi-tasking system that shows me what the future of smartphone technology will be. You see, I want to know what lies ahead. I want more than something that can look up a website on the internet or make a phone call. I want to see what’s ahead with the technology we’re using now. Google has been opening the door to the future using the Android system. Google has also made making Apps as easy as logging in to it’s App Inventor. With your Gmail address, you can access this function of Google Labs to get your feet wet with App making using YouTube tutorials and help from others along the way. And FREE has to be the best four-letter word in the english language, don’t you agree? http://appinventor.googlelabs.com/

===HuMoR===
I rarely include jokes with political overtones in them. I realize some of my readers actually voted for our current President. But this joke sent to me this week is one worth publishing. It’s one that a few president’s names could be substituted and would still work. I think …

I was eating lunch on the 20th of February with my 7-year-old grandson and I asked him, “What day is tomorrow?”
He said “It’s President’s Day!”
He is a smart kid.
I asked “What does President’s Day mean?” I was waiting for something about Washington or Lincoln … etc .
He replied, “President’s Day is when President Obama steps out of the White House, and if he sees his shadow we have one more year of unemployment.”
You know, it hurts when hot coffee spurts out your nose…
(thanks, Taz)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
I tell you, men drivers are a hazard to traffic. Driving to work this morning on the freeway, I looked over to my left and there’s this man in a Mustang doing 75 miles per hour with his face up next to his rear view mirror … shaving!!!
I looked away for a couple of seconds and when I looked back, he’s halfway over in my lane.
It scared me so bad I almost dropped my eye liner pencil in my coffee.
(thanks, Karen)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
“Have you seen this morning’s paper?”
“Yes, I wrapped the garbage in it.”
“But I hadn’t seen it yet!”
“You didn’t miss much. Just some coffee grounds and a few orange peels.”
(thanks, Tim)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
I Love My Job (As told to Dr. Seuss)

I love my Job, I love the Pay!
I love it more and more each day.
I love my Boss; she’s the best!
I love her boss and all the rest.

I love my Office and its location –
I hate to have to go on vacation.
I love my furniture, drab and gray,
and the paper that piles up every day!

I love my chair in my padded Cell!
There’s nothing else I love so well.
I love to work among my Peers –
I love their leers and jeers and sneers.

I love my Computer and all its Software;
I hug it often though it doesn’t care…
I love each Program and every File,
I try to understand once in a while!!

I’m happy to be here, I am I am;
I’m the happiest Slave of my Uncle Sam.
I love this Work; I love these Chores.
I love the Meetings with deadly Bores.

I love my Job – I’ll say it again –
I even love these friendly Men –
These men who’ve come to visit today
In lovely white coats to take me away!!!

(from an anonymous U.S. federal government worker)
=======================
And that’s this week’s WebLetter friends and neighbors … have a great weekend and as always, I pray that God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

