Jim’s WebLetter for 5/28/11

Hi-ya friends and fellow Netpeople!

Remember me telling you about purchasing items by phone last year? At the time, it was being done in countries like Singapore, Korea and Japan. Paypal released a payment application that has met with little progress here in the states. Now Google has begun Google Wallet and will be testing it in limited form. How would you feel about having the ability to use your phone to pay for everything from food to event tickets? CNET’s Elinor Mills gives a detailed report on Google Wallet … how it works and how secure it is. http://news.cnet.com/8301-27080_3-20066647-245.html?part=rss&subj=news&tag=2547-1_3-0-20&tag=nl.e703

Oh, but hold the phone … Paypal thinks Google stole it’s secrets and they’re suing them. The 28-page lawsuit was filed on the same day that Google unveiled Google Wallet and Google Offers, services that will combine coupons and discounts and payments at the time people buy things through their phone. Should be interesting to see how this shakes out. CNET’s Steven Musil has more … http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-20066646-93.html#ixzz1NbXAivd4

Gmail has had a number of new features added lately to enhance the communication experience. The folks at Google think it’s helpful to view relevant information about the people you are emailing, so over the next couple of weeks they’re rolling out a new widget located on the right hand side of Gmail messages called The People Widget which adds content from friends, family and colleagues already available to you but who may be hard to find. Next to every email message you will see information about them including recent emails you received from them, relevant Buzz posts, shared documents and calendar events. Look for The People Widget in your Gmail box soon … http://gmailblog.blogspot.com/2011/05/introducing-people-widget.html

OK, so I’ve shown you online photo editing places in the past … now, here’s a place that takes your photo and creates masterpieces. Want to create something that looks like a Monet masterpiece? Check out Psykopaint. It’s easy to upload a photo and put it into the process. Once in, you can try the number of preloaded features to see how your photo will become something that only a master could paint. http://www.psykopaint.com/

UJAM is a cloud-based platform that gives everybody an easy-to-create source of new music or to enhance their existing musical talent and share it with friends. Just sign up for a free account, check your email to verify and start making music … http://www.ujam.com/

===HuMoR===
One day a salesman stopped by the Jones farm, knocked, and Mrs. Jones came to the door.
“Is your husband home, Ma’am?” he asked.
“Sure is. He’s over to the cow barn.”
“Well, I got something to show him, Ma’am. Will I have any difficulty finding him?”
“Shouldn’t have any problem … He’s the one with the beard and mustache.”
(thanks, Tim)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
June is Marriage Month, and in honor of this great establishment:

Ed was in trouble. He forgot his wedding anniversary. His wife was really angry.
She told him, “Tomorrow morning, I expect to find a gift in the driveway that goes from 0 to 200 in less then 6 seconds AND IT BETTER BE THERE!!”
The next morning Ed got up early and left for work. When his wife woke up she looked out the window and sure enough there was a box gift-wrapped in the middle of the driveway. Confused, the wife put on her robe and ran out to the driveway, and brought the box back in the house.
She opened it and found a brand new bathroom scale.
Ed has been missing since Friday.
(thanks, Margaret)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
I urgently needed a few days off work but I knew the boss would not allow me to take leave. I thought that maybe if I acted ‘crazy’, then he would tell me to take a few days off. So, I hung upside-down on the ceiling and made funny noises.
My co-worker (who’s blonde) asked me what I was doing. I told her that I was pretending to be a light bulb, so the Boss might think I was ‘crazy’ and give me a few days off.
A few minutes later, the boss came into the office and asked, ‘What in the name of Sam Hill are you doing?’ I told him I was a light bulb. He said, ‘You are clearly stressed out. Go home and recuperate for a couple of days.’ I jumped down and walked out of the office…
When my co-worker (the blonde) followed me, the boss asked her, ‘And where do you think you’re going?!’
To which she replied:
‘I’m going home too. I can’t work in the dark.’
(thanks, Rob)
=======================
This is Memorial Weekend, a time when we give pause and thank those who gave of themselves so we Americans can live in freedom. Frankly, I think we need to be reminded much more than once a year. It becomes easy to forget that there was great sacrifice made so future generations can live. May we never forget that freedom isn’t free … it comes with a price. And for millions of those who came before us, we give thanks.

Have a great weekend. Remember Memorial Day and as always, I pray that God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web
C-my-site at http://www.jimonline.com

Leave a Reply

