Jim’s WebLetter for 11/25/11

Hi-ya friends and neighbors!

First, may I say thank you to those who contacted me wondering what’s up … I have been so busy this quarter that I haven’t had time to write this WebLetter. Now with Thanksgiving and a couple of days off, I want to tell you that I appreciate many of your comments and concerns.

Let me spend the next few phrases showing you some of the things I have come across since the last posting.

First, if you don’t have an online music account with somebody, you need to get one. While Amazon and Apple both have theirs, I use Google Music and have for some time now mainly because I can store up to 20,000 songs online that are easily accessible by computer and phone app. They now have a simple method of purchasing songs to add to the account that you can also share with your friends. I just like the ease of listening to songs I like to hear when and where I want to hear them. http://music.google.com

There was a story released this week on the use of passwords in securely created web pages. Whether it’s a log in for a bank account or email, it is always the best policy to use a password that has a reasonable chance of not being found out either by chance or software. In other words, don’t use “password” as your password. Having said that, the story found in Infoworld listed the top passwords being used on the internet today. Take note of the passwords listed. If you are using one of them, to ensure your security, go to your account and change it. http://www.infoworld.com/t/password-security/stop-using-these-25-passwords-today-179885

For those of you who made it through Black Friday, remember, there’s always Cyber Monday. This is when the “best deals” for computers and related stuff is available. And one of the best aggregate websites for what’s hot at what store is CyberMondayDeals.net. Keep in mind that the closer it gets to Christmas, chances are the better the deals are. http://mycybermondaydeals.net/

Finally, one of the news stories that you may have missed this week is one that stuck out to me based on the time I was stationed in Thailand during the Vietnam War. At that time, working on the base’s radio station, I was told not to play songs that may in some way insult the King of Thailand. Songs like, James Brown’s “King Heroin” in which the lyrics proclaim “and I’m legal in Siam”, weren’t played. We also couldn’t talk about the Thai guards who spent their nights sleeping rather than helping to guard the perimeter. But just this past Wednesday, a retired truck driver in Bangkok was sentenced to 20 years in prison for sending cellphone text messages that a court deemed insulting to Thailand’s monarchy. Seems nothing has changed since I was there all those years ago. The final piece of this story … the defendant, who claimed he didn’t even know how to send text messages, wasn’t able to appear in court because the prison in which he was being held was surrounded by flood waters. He watched the proceedings by an internet video link. http://www.nytimes.com/2011/11/24/world/asia/20-year-term-for-text-messages-against-thai-king-bhumibol.html?ref=technology

==HuMoR==
The banana loaf I was making was in the oven when my 16-year-old came into the kitchen where the family had gathered.
“That bread smells about done don’t you think, Mom?” he asked.
I told him I had set the timer and it was fine.
A little later he repeated his suggestion. “Mom, I really think that loaf is done. Maybe you should check it.”
Always quick to come to my defence, my 13-year-old son said, “Eddie, Mom’s been burning that banana bread for years now. I think she knows when to take it out.”
(thanks, Kathy)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
The Building Committee has been informed that opened sugar packets are being found in the nursery area.
We have had some serious problems with ants in the past and would like to avoid any recurrences if possible.
Coffee drinkers, please dispose of these packets properly.
If you are a coffee drinker but can’t read yet, please have your parents explain this to you.
(thanks, John)
+++++++++++++++++++++++
The little boy was late for Sunday school and the superintendent, seeing him slip in, detained him and asked him the reason. The boy shuffled his feet uncertainly for a moment, then blurted out, “I started out to go fishing instead, but my dad wouldn’t let me.”
The superintendent beamed broadly. “A wise father,” he said. “He was quite right not to let you go fishing on a Sunday. Did he explain why?”
The little boy nodded. “Oh, yes sir. He said there wasn’t enough bait for the two of us.”
(thanks, Chris)
=======================
So, there’s the latest of some of the things that came across my computer screen. Have a great weekend, and as always, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

