Jim’s WebLetter for 1/28/12

Hi-ya friends and netneighbors! The Web was packed with newsworthy events this week. Among them, Google has a new rule for all their free features, Facebook marks time-line, and Apple celebrates a birthday … this and more in this week’s JWL!

If you own a Gmail account, you likely have received notice that Google is changing it’s privacy policy reducing the numberof rules down to one. Essentially, Google is saying that information they collect from any of the Google accounts you create, can and will be used on the other Google services. This is their effort to make the rules less confusing. There’s more details and a video available to watch at Techspot.com … http://www.techspot.com/news/47222-google-revises-privacy-policy-responds-to-critics-with-the-real-story.html

For many of us who have a Facebook page, the moment for Timeline is fast approaching. Facebook announced that it is converting everyone’s account to the new feature, whether you like it or not. I haven’t had time to upgrade my site as yet, but I know I need to do something soon. The idea is Facebook will be revealing every photo you have uploaded on your account, ever. Then it will arrange it in the time line by date from the latest to the earliest. If you’ve had an account for some time, this means your photos will be more prominent for everyone to see. Here’s a video and information about Timeline and what you need to do to get a jump on the changeover … https://www.facebook.com/about/timeline

Yesterday, there was a birthday for one of the most significant pieces of technology in recent history … happy 2nd birthday to Apple’s iPad. In just two years, the industry has made a notable change from laptops to tablets spearheaded by the iPad. But it’s the apps that have made this device the one to own. Now with half a million of them in the iTunes store, the hardware has something to run that makes it the tablet to own. It isn’t the so-so processor, or the just-ok quality screen. And you can’t watch flash formatted videos on it either. No, it’s the apps. And it’s Apple’s incredible advertising machine that made everyone sit up and take notice. http://www.apple.com/ipad/

Today, even more than the desire to build websites, is the creation of apps for phones and tablets. There’s a site for that … Revision3 contains hours of geek-friendly programming, from full Photoshop tutorials to advice on launching an internet company. And apps, yes, there’s an app for that. http://revision3.com/

I came across a site created by public TV station WGBH in Boston, known for creating good television programming. Known as the Fin, Fur, and Feather Bureau of Investigation (FFFBI), this site consists of a set of Internet-based games and focuses on improving the organizational and learning behaviors of kids ages 8 to 13 with ADHD. As they say, each game is designed to teach useful skills and strategies, while continually encouraging players to complete increasingly difficult tasks. To increase interest, the FFFBI Academy uses a humorous spy theme and frequent reinforcements for successful game play. http://www.fffbi.com/

===HuMoR===
Several days ago as I left a meeting at our church, I was looking for my keys. They were not in my pockets. A quick search in the meeting room revealed nothing. Suddenly I realized, I must have left them in the car. Frantically, I headed for the parking lot. My wife, Diane, has scolded me many times for leaving the keys in the ignition. My theory is the ignition is the best place not to lose them. Her theory is that the car will be stolen. As I burst through the doors of the church, I came to a terrifying conclusion. Her theory was right. The parking lot was empty. I immediately called the police. I gave them my location, confessed that I had left my keys in the car, and that it had been stolen. Then I made the most difficult call of all – calling my wife, I said, “I left my keys in the car, and it has been stolen.” There was a period of silence. I thought the call had been dropped, but then I heard Diane’s voice. “Ken,” she barked, “I dropped you off!” Now it was my time to be silent. Embarrassed, I said, “Well, would you come and get me?” Diane replied, “I will, as soon as I convince this policeman I have not stolen your car.”
(thanks, Dave)
++++++++++++++++++++++
Catching her in the act, I confronted our 3-year-old granddaughter.
“Are you eating your little sister’s grapes?” I demanded.
“No,” she innocently replied, “I’m helping her share.”
(smart kid, thanks Glenn)
=======================
And that’s the highlights I found this week on the World Wide Web. Now, have a great weekend and may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

