Jim’s WebLetter for 5/5/12

Hi-ya Webfriends!

It’s Shrimp Festival weekend here on the island. Yes, it’s that time of year when we host as many as 150,000 people who come for the fun. If you’re one of the folks coming to the Festival this weekend, I hope you have a good time. You can get information about parking and where everything is located when you visit the website at ShrimpFestival.com.

Here’s a few things I found fun and fascinating while on the Web this week …

I watched a video from the BBC on the subject of wireless battery charging. While the scientists are perfecting wireless charging of cellphones and as time progresses, electric cars, the report included household appliances as well. Check it out … http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/click_online/9708468.stm

I make an attempt each week to watch a video that is provided by TED, a non-profit that stands for Technology, Entertainment & Design. Their goal is “ideas worth spreading”. One of the videos I watched was of 11-year-old Birke Baehr. He presented his take on a major source of our food … industrial farms. Keeping farms out of sight promotes a rosy, unreal picture of big-box agriculture, he argues, as he outlines the case for green and localize food production. Matter of fact, he’s planning a career as an organic farmer. Watch his speech before the huge audience at the TED convention … http://www.ted.com/talks/birke_baehr_what_s_wrong_with_our_food_system.html

Next, there was a time when you might be considered suspect if you surfed the Web using a privacy feature to prevent others from knowing who you were, or what sites you were landing on. But today, with new rules now being considered by our government for spying on you, hacking devices that can infiltrate your computer and steal your personal information, and technology from such entities as Google that can track every site you visit just so they can inundate you with advertising, the idea of protecting oneself from prying eyes has taken on a new meaning. I discovered a story from Techland that shows eight tools to use to protect your privacy while on the web. Consider the story useful to protect yourself. You still have the right to be protected while using the public information highway. http://techland.time.com/2012/05/04/8-tools-for-the-online-privacy-paranoid/

Each week, I will give you a review on an App I am using on my new iPad. I regularly research and download apps to see how they work and if it’s something I can use. One of the reasons I purchased the Apple device was for musical apps that I could use to create soundtracks for videos I shoot. But it’s great to have an app that makes musical scores easy. So I purchased a program called Seline Ultimate for $6.99. I can choose from over 50 instruments, play on an ergo-friendly keyboard with intuitive background and drums. Here’s a YouTube video demonstrating its ability. This is the older version of the software which now has nicer graphics as well as even more features … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wCDW3Q1kKvc&feature=related

Finally, tonight the moon will be the closest to us this year. They’re calling it a “supermoon” as it will become full at 11:35 pm and will be big to midnight. Hopefully it will be clear where you are so you can enjoy the sight.
http://www.usatoday.com/tech/science/space/story/2012-05-02/supermoon-full-moon-may/54691328/1

===HuMoR===
After an enthusiastic recommendation from my wife, I began listening to the audio-book version of a novel.
“I love it, but his writing style is so disjointed,” I complained. “He refers to characters I don’t know and introduces them a half hour later.”
My wife was as confused as I was, but I soldiered on, disoriented by the jumpy story line. It wasn’t until the end of the book that my dilemma was explained: I had my iPod set on “Shuffle.”
(thanks, Doc)
++++++++++++++++++++
Taking my car to the mechanic, I was fearful that any needed repair might be too expensive. I was relieved when he told me all I needed was blinker fluid.
(thanks, Kathy)
====================
So, there you go, friends. Have a great weekend and may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

