Jim’s WebLetter for 5/12/12

Hi-ya WebFriends,

I hope you had a good week. It’s Mother’s Day on Sunday (*don’t forget to call mom and maybe send some flowers, too*). So, let me show you some of the things I discovered while working on the Web this week.

As I continue to weed my way through the field of sites, I am sure that security is more important now than ever before. Because I have several passwords for emails and websites I manage, I need a way to protect my listing. I saw a video on CNET this week about LastPass, a free password manager. You can store all your passwords in one location, it’s easily available by mobile app or online through their website and an attachment to your web browser, and it’s secure. Did I mention that the basic service is free? http://lastpass.com/

This next site got my attention because they are doing television on the Internet. Revision3 creates programs for and about the Web that covers the latest innovations as well as how-to instructional videos. It’s well produced and is worth the time to learn what technology is doing today … http://revision3.com/

This Shell is a unique website created by Legwork Studios that promotes the group The new album “Parts” from Gramit in a rather fun and rewarding manner. The website presents fans with a video puzzle that if solved before the music ends, allows them access to a free mp3 download of the song. Here’s the kicker … This site is written in the new format HTML5 so it is available to every type of internet device, even cellphones and tablets. http://thisshell.com/

Last, here’s an app for iPad I have downloaded to create video stories using photos and narration, mixing them with music I can choose or import. I can create a soundtrack and use that, too. I just pick a story theme from the collection, import photos, record myself telling the story and, it’s done. It’s called Videolicious and it’s free in the App Store. http://www.videolicious.com

===HuMoR===
A lady took her dog to the groomer at pet store for a haircut and asked what it would cost.
The receptionist looked at her from behind the counter and told her that a bath and haircut started at around fifty dollars, but there were many options, so the price could vary.
Holding on to her dog’s leash, the potential customer was visibly outraged.
“I only pay $25 for my own haircut!” said the woman indignantly.
The groomer replied, “That may be true, but then you don’t bite, do you?”
(thanks, Beth)
++++++++++++++++++++
Arriving home from work at my usual hour of 5 p.m., I discovered that it had not been one of my wife’s better days. Nothing I said or did seemed to be right.
By 7 p.m. things had not changed, so I suggested I go outside, pretend I had just got home, and start all over again. My wife agreed.
I went outside, came back in and, with a big smile, announced, “Honey, I’m home!”
“And just where have you been?” she replied sharply. “It’s after seven o’clock!”
(thanks, Mary)
====================
And that’s this weeks look through the computer screen, friends. Have a great weekend, happy Mother’s Day, and may God bess you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

