Jim’s WebLetter for 6/16/12

Hi-ya folks!

I read an interesting article on Qualcomm’s Spark – a blog that from time to time has something interesting to say. The piece I am referring to is entitled, “What Healthcare can learn from Facebook”. Just the mention of the compound word “healthcare” sends the mind to the last doctor or hospital visit, doesn’t it? In the article, a correlation is created by what the doctors do and what Facebook has done. Where there are differences in the information gathered, there are similarities in the methods. The issue comes down to this … will the doctors step up and embrace new technology and it’s speed, or stay stuck in the old way of collecting and dispensing information. After personally hearing from a couple of the local MD’s on their practices, I realize it’s going to take much more than just this article to make that happen … http://spark.qualcomm.com/salon/what-healthcare-can-learn-facebook

Google Calendar is great for managing appointments, but that’s not all it can do. The sharing, searchability, timeline view, and other features make Google Calendar a simple but powerful project management tool. Andrea Vascellari, digital marketing consultant and CEO of itive.net, shares how you can use Google Calendar for your team and with your clients. http://lifehacker.com/5918676/how-to-use-google-calendar-as-a-project-management-tool

Minus makes sharing pictures, documents, music, videos and files simple, instant, and free. Minus lets you drag files from your desktop and folders directly to your browser to start sharing or via the Minus desktop and mobile apps. Maybe the best part, you get up to 50 gigs of space for free. http://minus.com/

Here’s a new program I have running on my iPad. It’s called Carat. The app runs in the background and monitors the energy consumption of various apps and processes on your smartphone and tablet, then sends that information to a data analytics Spark application running on Amazon Web Services. Usual suspects include data-hungry apps, an outdated operating system, Wi-Fi, and GPS. The results of these analyses are then sent back to the app, which can give you feedback and advice about how to improve your battery life. Carat works on Droid and iPad. I have it on my phone and have improved the life of my battery. http://techcrunch.com/2012/06/14/carat-battery/

===HuMoR===
I was working as a short-order cook at two restaurants in the same neighborhood. On a Saturday night, I was finishing up the dinner shift at one restaurant and hurrying to report to work at the second place, but I was delayed because one table kept sending back an order of hash browns, insisting they were cold. I replaced them several times, but still the customers were dissatisfied.
When I was able to leave, I raced out the door and arrived at my second job. A server immediately handed me my first order.
“Make sure these hash browns are hot,” she said, “because these people just left a restaurant down the street that kept serving them cold ones.”
(thanks, Jenny)
++++++++++++++++++++
My 5-year-old nephew wanted to caddy for my brother’s golf game. “You have to count my strokes,” my brother told him. “How much is six plus nine plus eight?”
“Five.” answered the nephew.
“Okay,” my brother said, “let’s go.”
(thanks, Rob)
====================
Well that’s it for this weekend, friends. Happy Father’s day to my friends marking this Sunday. For me, it is also my wedding anniversary. We will truly celebrate this year when we board a plane to Italy in September. More on that later. Until next weekend, my God bless you and keep you safe!

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

