Jim’s WebLetter for 6/30/12

Hi-ya Webfriends!

There are a couple of things I always want to “praise the Lord” for … Taste buds and air conditioning. There’s nothing like enjoying something delicious and on hot days like we’re having – A/C. So here I am up early writing my recollection of the weeks’ Web discoveries while enjoying both things.

Late this week, Google showed off its new tablet, the Nexus 7. The seven inch tablet that will be the control for a complete line of Google and Nexus products to come. Home entertainment is taking a big leap forward. http://www.foxnews.com/scitech/2012/06/27/google-announces-android-41-jelly-bean/

Also this week, Google offered the Chrome browser for iPad. After downloading it and signing into my Google account, I was able to bring up my email, calendar and Drive accounts -each on it’s own tab. Then I can switch from one tab to the next, or open a tab and highlight the address bar and use the built in microphone to say what I want to search for, for instance. Yea, I like Chrome for iPad. http://www.smeidu.com/chrome-for-ipad/

The list of video editing software continues to grow as the industry grows. One program that has been used to edit parts of major motion pictures is now available for all of us … Light Works makes video editing easy. http://www.lwks.com

Have you been on YouTube lately? I am loving the improvements with the interface and search functions. And if you upload a video you have access to a really good video editor. And as usual, YT continues to build an inventory of videos for whatever you’re looking for. Http://www.youtube.com

Last, even though they’ve been around awhile, I finally signed up and began using a free music service called Songza that is different from other web radio services for two reasons: the stations on Songza are made by people (any member of the community can create a station) and Songza helps people find stations by personalizing the Songza experience based on a user’s interests. It’s easy to use and offers music for however you feel … http://www.songza.com

===HuMoR===
Our young daughter had adopted a stray cat. To my distress, he began to use the back of our new sofa as a scratching post. “Don’t worry,” my husband reassured me. “I’ll have him trained in no time.”
I watched for several days as my husband patiently “trained” our new pet. Whenever the cat scratched, my husband deposited him outdoors to teach him a lesson.
The cat learned quickly. For the next 16 years, whenever he wanted to go outside, he scratched the back of the sofa.
(thanks, Barbara)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Off the seventh tee, Joe sliced his shot deep into a wooded ravine. He took his eight iron and clambered down the embankment in search of his lost ball.
After many long minutes of hacking at the underbrush, he spotted something glistening in the leaves. As he drew nearer, he discovered that it was an eight iron in the hands of a skeleton!
Joe immediately called out to his friend, “Jack, I’ve got trouble down here!”
“What’s the matter?” Jack asked from the edge of the ravine.
“Bring me my wedge,” Joe shouted. “You can’t get out of here with an eight iron!”
(thanks, Dan)
====================
And that’s the way it looked through the computer screen this week. Have a great weekend and may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

