Jim’s WebLetter for 11/25/12

Jim’s WebLetter
(also blogged on jimonline.wordpress.com)

Hi-ya Holiday shoppers!

Yea, you know who you are. Recovering from the Black Friday shopping hours and preparing for Cyber Monday? I feel for you. I used to be like that. Not any more. Online shopping has taken over in my house and we spend time on our iPads tapping in and okaying our purchases delivered right to the door.

I also have more time to compose this WebLetter which includes some great deals I discovered while working on the Web this week.

Has your Gmail inbox become a repository for countless newsletters and ads? You don’t want to label them as Spam, but you don’t need them cluttering up the system either. There is a free service that will monitor your emails and drop them into a folder on the left side of your Gmail called Unroll.me. Once you sign up and give them access to your Gmail account, the service checks for recurring mail and asks if you it placed in the folder each time it comes to your inbox. I use it and recommend it. They do not share your information with anyone, keeping your access protected, and they provide it for free. Try it and see if you have the same success … Http://www.unroll.me

If you are a CNET registrant, you have access to a contest … The Cheapskate Fifth-Anniversary Giveaway Spectacular, Round Three. Among the prizes are the new Galaxy Note 2 and the new Roku box for Internet TV viewing. If you aren’t already signed up, it’s free to enter and the deadline for contest entries is this weekend, so click the link … http://ct.cnet-ssa.cnet.com/clicks?t=1159626586-12d21877ea586e07d59392327bc24815-bf&brand=CNET-SSA&s=5

And speaking of CNET, they have great ideas and reviews on the latest electronics you may be shopping for with Cyber Monday coming up. Visit their site at http://www.cnet.com

If you have a Facebook account, ShadowDrive is a free to use website that” aims to seamlessly integrate online file storage with online social networks. You can sign into the website using your Facebook or Twitter account. Next you can begin uploading your files and manage them on your ShadowDrive account. Uploaded files can be downloaded, shared with others or kept private, posted onto Facebook, or sent directly to a Facebook friend. Any files you upload can be deleted anytime you want.
http://www.shadowdrive.com

===HuMoR===
A police car pulled me over near the high school where I teach. As the officer asked for my license and registration, my students began to drive past. Some honked their horns, others hooted, and still others stopped to admonish me for speeding.
Finally the officer asked me if I was a teacher at the school, and I told him I was.
“I think you’ve paid your debt to society,” he said with a smile, and left without giving me a ticket.
(Thanks, Alice)
++++++++++++++++++++
There was once a young man who, in his youth, professed his desire to become a great writer. When asked to define “great” he said, “I want to write stuff that the whole world will read, stuff that people will react to on a truly emotional level. Stuff that will make them scream, cry, and howl in pain and anger!”
He now works for Microsoft, writing error messages.
(Thanks Henry)
==========================
That’s what I have for you this week … make it a good weekend friends, and until next, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

