Jim’s WebLetter for 12/29/12

Hi-ya friends and neighbors!

I hope you enjoyed your Christmas time with all things that surround it. Our kids weren’t able to come down, so we spent part of the morning on Facetime (iPad’s video conferencing program) talking and watching kids play with their new things. It’s the next best thing to being there.

So, there’s lots to report, let’s get busy.

This week, my phone contract showed I was due a renewal. Stopping by the Verizon store, I picked up the Samsung Galaxy S3 phone as my wife has one and, after researching it, I discovered it was rated the best mobile device of 2012 by CNET, who I consider a leader in reviewing and testing products. Sure enough, it’s lightweight, handy, sports a beautiful face with fast acting apps. While I was purchasing it, I received the upgrade in software to Jellybean 4.1.1 adding yet more features and abilities. There was one thing, tho’. Jellybean doesn’t support Flash media player. Any videos I wanted to bring up on my 4G or wifi system wouldn’t load on the phone. I read the story from IBTimes in London about the change … http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/articles/374324/20120816/google-play-adobe-flash-player-install-android.htm
So I did some research and discovered a workaround. I think that should have been the buzzword of the year, “workaround”. After all, when I got my iPad, I had to do some workarounds to get it to do what I wanted. So, it’s only fitting that I would need to do something to make this new phone handle Flash videos I come across online.
There is a page entitled, “How I installed Flash Media Player on my Android”. I followed the instructions and, low and behold, I am watching Flash movies on the BBC website, among other places. http://rocksetta.com/samsungs3/flashOnAndroid.html
Good phone, fast service … it’s a keeper.

Gmail users will want to know that Google has decided to extend calling privileges through 2013. If you’ve ever used your microphone and placed a free call to someone using the system, you know what I mean. Good clean service over the internet, free.
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/google-extends-free-calling-for-gmail-users-through-2013-updates/

Next, I still use Windows for my laptops and desktop at work. I find that Windows 7 is still a good workers’ tool and is secure and solid state. That means I am also looking for tools to aid in my work. Here is one that is good for erasing and removing files I no longer want to use. Eraser, a free program, not only deletes them, it clears them from the hard drive. http://eraser.heidi.ie/

Here’s a handy program/app that allows you to take the photos you shot during the holidays or vacations and easily create groups and cool layouts. LiveShare makes group photo sharing simple. Set it up so you can add photos along with your friends or family, and create groups on the fly. You can make them as private as you want, and see everyone’s photos flow into your shared streams. Photos are interweaved as beautiful photo collages within text conversations and fully interactive maps. Try it once and you’ll want to do it forever … http://www.liveshare.com/

So looking toward 2013, the rumors are already flying for a new iPad 5, an iPad mini 2, Galaxy S4 phone and Galaxy Note 3. Also, as much as iPad has already made the leap into the schools, more apps are on the way that will make the device a book, study course, teacher’s aid and the answer to education in the 21st century. As I like to say at this time each year, it’s a great time to be alive in the world of technology. It’s just getting better!

=== HuMoR ===
POINTS To PONDER
The flea can jump 350 times its body length. It’s like a human jumping the length of a football field.
The catfish has over 27,000 taste buds.
Some lions mate over 50 times a day.
Butterflies taste with their feet.
Elephants are the only animals that cannot jump.
A cat’s urine glows under a black light.
An ostrich’s eye is bigger than its brain.
Starfish have no brains.
Polar bears are left-handed.
You’re Just Jealous Because The Voices Are Talking To Me.
(thanks, Karen)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
ONE LINERS TO REMEMBER
My husband and I divorced over religious differences.
He thought he was God and I didn’t.

Some people are alive only because it’s illegal to kill them.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

He who dies with the most toys is nonetheless dead.

The gene pool could use a little chlorine.
(thank you, Miss Ethel)
=================================
That’s this week’s WebLetter, friends. Happy New Year … may God bless you and keep you safe in 2013.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

