Jim’s WebLetter for 6/15/13

Hi-ya Folks!

Last week we learned that the federal government is spying on us through the use of our phone calls and emails all in the name of making us safe and secure.  After I wrote of this, I received responses including a reminder that President Obama made the comment that we want the protection without the inconvenience and we can’t have it that way.  Well, when the numbers were released this week, we discovered that the method being used isn’t doing much good in protecting us.  As a matter of fact, our government has been using the data collected as bargaining tools with other countries as well as some large corporations in our own. 

I stand firm on this:  I don’t want my data secretly used by our government without my permission.  I don’t have anything to hide, but I do have the right provided by the Constitution to be protected by our government.  As I see it, the federal government doesn’t have a choice.  They have sworn to uphold and defend the Constitution.  Nowhere in it do they have permission to take our communication and use it to their advantage.

Now, as I step down from my soapbox, let me show you a few sites I came across this week …

There was a time I spent long periods driving my car to and from work in Jacksonville.  On weekends I would visit the local library and check out audio books to listen to while making the daily trek.  Now, audio books are available online through such websites as BooksShouldBeFree.com.  You’ll find thousands of free audio books that you can download in mp3, iPod and iTunes format for your portable audio player.  The site also has audio previews along with conveniently listed categories.  http://www.booksshouldbefree.com/

Me Books app for iPad uses audio to add an additional element to stories. The e-books are narrated, and include artwork that kids can tap to hear characters speak, too. In addition, readers (or their parents) can also record their own voices over the default narration to customize the experience even further.  Me Books ships with one title for free, then other books can be purchased for $2.99 (USD) within the app. Unlike some book apps where a large number of titles come from the public domain, Me Books’ titles come from publishers like Penguin, Harper Collins and Scholastic.  US residents can download the app here … https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/me-books/id534499518?mt=8

I found a site that answers the question “Wonder How To”.  Note:  This is one of those sites you could spend a lot of time exploring and finding yourself saying “wow”.  Just keep in mind some of the stories may not be for young readers.  That said, many are very good and practical for things you want to know.  This is one of my bookmark sites … http://www.wonderhowto.com/

=== HuMoR ===

I pulled into the crowded parking lot at the local shopping center and rolled down the car windows to make sure my yellow lab puppy had enough fresh air.
 She was stretched-out on the back seat.
I needed to impress upon her that she must remain in the car.
I walked to the curb backward, pointing my finger at the car
and saying emphatically, “stay …. you stay. Do you hear me?”
“Stay !!! Stay !!!”
I said over and over again.
Suddenly, the driver of a nearby car, a pretty blonde young woman,
gave me a strange look and shouted,
 “Why don’t you just put it in ‘Park’?”
(thanks, dad)
++++++++++++++++++++
I was blessed with three beautiful, intelligent and terrific children. When they were seven, six and five, my youngest daughter who was always asking questions, came home from kindergarten one day and asked, “Daddy, how many children did you want?”
Thinking for a minute, I looked at her and said, “Two.”
She thought about this for a moment and then asked, “Me, and who else?”
(thanks, Doug)
====================
Have a great weekend friends, and until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web


Leave a Reply

