Jim’s WebLetter for 12/14/13

Hi-ya Web Friends!

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas as Johnny Mathis sings … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGBie5pT9nw  … that’s my way of spreading the Spirit around.  But this WebLetter is about spreading the Web news around so let me show you a few of the things I discovered this week.

Online music source Spotify has been trying to become the main go-to source here in the US.  It’s been an uphill climb.  This week they announced a free music streaming service for both IOS and Android devices.  If that sounds familiar, it is … I told you it was an uphill climb.  Still, if you want to hear songs you enjoy without paying to download them, this is a solution.   Another is, turn on the radio.  http://thenextweb.com/media/2013/12/11/spotify-reveals/#!pRSnt

To date, millions of people own and use a Gmail email address.  As a Gmail user, I find there are so many other features offered by Google including calendar, online storage and Google+ that I access with my email address.  But there are other email providers such as Yahoo and Microsoft and studies show that some email users would switch if the process were easier.  Matter of fact, it’s Microsofts’ Outlook email that is offering incentives for Gmail users to switch including easy transfer of contacts, email stored and now, the use of the Gmail email address.  http://mobile.betanews.com/betanews/#!/entry/outlookcom-eases-your-transition-from-gmail,52a8b92a025312186c9d83fa

It was reported this week that the leading tech companies have come together and sent a letter to the US government requesting that it cease using them to spy on the public at large.  Microsoft, Google, Yahoo, Apple and Facebook have teamed up to pressure President Obama to rein in the NSA.  After all, it doesn’t look good to consumers to know that they have been spied on while using the products and services provided by them.  http://www.aljazeera.com/news/americas/2013/12/tech-companies-pressure-obama-over-nsa-2013121013140169598.html

One of the hottest selling tech products of the year has been Google’s  Chromecast, the TV dongle that plugs into the HDMI port, connects to the home WiFi system and, using it’s App for Android and IOS devices, allows the user to push YouTube, Hulu Plus and Nextflix videos and a growing number of music services to the television.  While Apple started this concept with their Apple TV, the little Chromecast comes in at about one third the cost at $35.  But there are long range advantages to the Google device including an open source script that allows other companies to create programs and games that will become available.  GigaOm’s article gives you more details about what the future holds. http://gigaom.com/2013/12/13/chromecast-in-2014-an-open-sdk-big-international-plans-and-maybe-even-new-devices/

===HuMoR===
Discovering that I’d overslept, I abandoned my usual morning routine and rushed out. In the van, though, I realized I had time to stop for a take-out coffee. I got my coffee and returned to the van, only to find I had not only left it running, but had locked it!
The day was going from bad to worse. I returned to the shop, sheepishly explained my situation to the clerk and asked if I could borrow a broom.
I managed to open a side window and pop the lock on the back door using the broom handle. When I returned the broom, the clerk said, “I know you’re having a bad day, but…”
“I know, I know,” I interrupted. “You want to know how I can unlock my van with a broom.”
“No,” she said. “I wanted to tell you that your shirt is on inside out.”
(thanks, Mary)
++++++++++++++++++++
Faced with economic pressures and in an attempt to remain profitable, many commercial offices are cutting back on costs wherever possible.
At one particular office, employees are taking management’s belt-tightening orders seriously.
“I’m taking two cups of coffee instead of five a day from the office kitchen,” said one of the workers.
“I’m only taking home half the office supplies I used to,” another worker noted.
(thanks, Pat)
====================
Have a great weekend friends, and until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

