Jim’s WebLetter for 1/25/14

Hi-ya Friends!

Flipboard CEO Mike McCue has created a video to explain his App and the new upgrade that features the ability for the user to create a personal virtual magazine that is shareable through sites like Facebook and Twitter or via a link in email. The Flipboard can include news stories found through Flipboard, or personal browsing using a “Flip It” button.

As a result of trying the Flipboard out, I have created one for this publication which you will find the weekly WebLetter included along with additional stories I found interesting. It’s shareable so feel free to forward to a friend. http://flip.it/1U2Ad

My wife will tell you, I don’t have issues when going to sleep once I hit the sheets. As soon as the light is out, so am I. But statistics show many folks have difficulty falling and staying asleep. Diana Kelly of Daily Burn offers tips to a restful sleep that’s worth the read … http://dailyburn.com/life/lifestyle/cant-sleep-tips/?mtype=14&partner=shape

In past issues I have shown the advantage of using Google Now, the App that responds to your verbal commands with answers to such vocal queries as “what’s the current temperature in (name of city)” and “what’s on my calendar for today”? Android and Me offers 10 good uses for it … http://androidandme.com/2014/01/opinions/ten-practical-uses-for-google-now/

And I can’t let it go by without offering some advantages to the latest version of Siri, Apples’ version of Google Now… http://gigaom.com/2014/01/11/how-to-get-the-most-out-of-apples-siri-on-your-iphone-or-ipad/

For homeschoolers in particular, there is an iPad app called Baloney! which is a game that uses math, science and history which engages elementary school students. It’s also the kind of educational app that parents and children can use together. http://ipadapps4school.com/2014/01/20/thats-baloney-a-fun-trivia-app-for-kids

===HuMoR===
My wife and her friend were talking about their labor-saving devices as they pulled into our driveway.
Her friend said, “I love my new garage door opener.”
“I love mine too,” my wife replied, and honked the horn three times. That was the signal for me to come out and open the garage door.
(Thanks, Matt)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
When Dad’s satellite dish conked out, I found him on the phone with the help desk. The television set was pulled away from the wall, and he was staring at the mass of tangled wires that were spilling out the back of it. He looked absolutely overwhelmed.
“Tell you what I’m going to do,” he said to the technician.
“I’m going to hang up now, go to college for a couple of years, and then call you back.”
(Thanks, Beth)
====================
Have a great weekend friends, and until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

