Jim’s WebLetter for 2/8/14

Jim’s WebLetter
(also blogged on jimonline.wordpress.com and posted in WebLetter, the Flipboard of Jim’s WebLetter at web.jimonline.com)

Hi-ya WebFriends!

The world’s top athletes have converged on Sochi, Russia for the Winter Olympics and among all the action, cameras are rolling and showing the action on the internet. CNET reports on Web places showing what it looks like to compete in the snow. http://howto.cnet.com/8301-11310_39-57618334-285/stream-the-2014-sochi-winter-olympics/

A lot is being written lately about Flipboard, the news aggregator that creates a magazine complete with flipping pages, of news, sports, or just about any subject you want to read. Now, thanks to artificial intelligence in their software, Flipboard monitors what you find interesting and pushes those stories to your board. This article from Engadget includes a video explaining how it all works … http://www.engadget.com/2014/01/29/flipboard-cover-stories/

We have become a world of picture-takers. The quality of small, inexpensive cameras and phones with cameras has made us that way. This is a good thing. But for many, after all the pictures have been taken, the quandary is, what do you do with them all? Blogger Jill Smokler was faced with the same issue until she did some research and wrote “10 Ways to get your Photos off your Computer and into your Life” … Take notes … http://www.scarymommy.com/10-ways-to-get-your-photos-off-of-your-computer-and-into-your-life/

I like to work with music playing in the background. Music sets the mood and makes the day just go better. One website I have reported on before is still making its mark online … GrooveShark.com is always looking for the best in free music streaming. More than 30 million users head to GrooveShark to listen to their favorite music. Whether you want to listen to the new stuff or, like me, listen to the hits of the past, you can search and find great songs. Create music playlists at GrooveShark and share with all your Facebook, Twitter and other social media website friends, too. http://www.grooveshark.com/

Read additional stories I discovered this week in WebLetter, my Flipboard magazine …. http://web.jimonline.com/

===HuMoR===
I packed the car and gathered our daughters for a visit to my sister’s house . On my way out the door, my husband, who wasn’t going, said: “Be very careful … my whole world is in that car!”
Later, during lunch, I repeated the words of my sentimental and loving husband to my sister, and my oldest daughter cracked, “Yeah, Dad’s golf clubs are in the trunk!”
(Thanks, Harold)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Shortly before our 25th wedding anniversary, my husband sent 25 long-stemmed yellow roses to me at my office.
A few days later, I plucked all the petals and dried them.
On the night of our anniversary, I spread the petals over the bed and laid down on top of them, wearing only a negligee.
As I’d hoped, I got a reaction from my husband.
When he saw me, he blurted out, “Are those potato chips?”
(Thanks, dad)
====================
Have a great weekend friends, and until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

