Jim’s WebLetter for 3/29/14

Hi-ya!

Just got back from a quick visit to Disney with my son’s family and experienced using the new Magic Band they are now providing which replaces such things as tickets, room entrance key, food purchases and identification. Disney has embraced, what i believe, is the future. Imagine wearing a band that provides all your needs, whether it’s health, personal identification, security and safety. This band will be connected by wifi or gps ensuring your computer system can keep in touch with you and everything you need. Check Disney’s website about the Magic Band … https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/plan/my-disney-experience/passholder/

One of the big stories this week was from Microsoft Office, now available for iPad. There have been a number of reports about the new version of Office. Mostly about all the features it can do, and can’t do. First, there are only a few things it can do for free. To unlock all the functions, you must sign up and pay for Office 365. That’s $70 a year for single use, $100 when used in a company or corporation. I don’t care to pay for something I can do with other services like Google Drive or Pages. Thanks, anyway.
http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702303779504579465533553281294

Additional stories for iPad tablets can be found in iTab, the magazine for tablets and their owners. http://iTab.jimonline.com

Pet owners like me have learned the value of preventive medicine when it comes to our animal friends. Our pet, a middle age dachshund who answers to such names as “Newton”, “Pookie”, and “Sparky” gets food that is made for animals his size and age. Pet websites are providing helpful information on proper diet and nutrition and what to do in case of emergency. Check out this list from an article written by Kihara Kimanchia for MakeUseOf online magazine. He writes, “there are dozens of online pet healthcare websites. Having analyzed these resources in detail, I have no reservations recommending them as the best sources of animal healthcare advice online”. One on the list is PetMD, a site I have referenced before. See what you think … http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/find-best-animal-healthcare-advice-online/

Animal websites are so popular there is one called Attack of the Cute you will likely want to bookmark and pass along photos to your friends. http://attackofthecute.com/

For additional stories about the Web, visit the WebLetter magazine at http://web.jimonline.com

===HuMoR===
A man walks into a restaurant with a full-grown ostrich behind him. The waitress asks them for their orders.
The man says, “A hamburger, fries and a coke,” and then turns to the ostrich and asks, “What’s yours?”
“I’ll have the same,” says the ostrich.
A short time later the waitress returns with the order.
“That will Be $9.40 please.” The man reaches into his pocket and pulls out the exact change for payment.
The next day, the man and the ostrich come again and the man says, “A hamburger, fries and a coke.”
The ostrich says, “I’ll have the same.”
Again the man reaches into his pocket and pays with exact change. This becomes routine until the two enter again.
“The usual?” asks the waitress. “No, this is Friday night, so I will have a steak, baked potato and a salad,” says the man.
“Same,” says the ostrich.
The waitress brings the order and says, “That will be $32.62.” Once again the man pulls the exact change out of his pocket and places it on the table.
The waitress cannot hold back her curiosity any longer.
“Excuse me, sir. How do you manage to always come up with the exact change in your pocket every time?”
“Well,” says the man. “Several years ago, I was cleaning the attic and found an old lamp. When I rubbed it, a Genie appeared and offered me two wishes. My first wish was that if I ever had to pay for anything, I would just put my hand in my pocket and the right amount of money would always be there.”
“That’s brilliant!” says the waitress. “Most people would ask for a million dollars or something, but you’ll always be as rich as you want for as long as you live!”
“That’s right. Whether it’s a gallon of milk or a Rolls Royce, the exact money is always there,” says the man.
The waitress asks, “What’s with the ostrich?”
The man sighs, pauses and says, “My second wish was for a tall chick with a big bottom and long legs who agrees with everything I say.”
(Thanks, dad)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
I was preparing lunch for my granddaughter when the phone rang.
“If you can answer one question,” a young man said, “you’ll win two all expense days at La Reserve Spa.”
Before I could tell him I was not interested, he continued. “You’ll be a lucky winner if you can tell me what Alexander Graham Bell invented.”
“I don’t know,” I replied dryly, trying to discourage him.
“What are you holding in your hand right now?” he asked excitedly.
“A bologna sandwich.”
“Congratulations!” he said. “And for having such a great sense of humor …..”
(Thanks, Karen)
====================
Have a great weekend friends, and until next week’s post, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

