Jim’s WebLetter for 5/31/14

Hi-ya!

If you own an iPhone and use the Find My Phone app, you need to change your password. And NOW is a good time to make sure all the data on your iPhone is backed up in the cloud. There are folks hacking into the system who figured out how to get in, change your password and now want money from you to unlock it. Yes, that’s extortion. But that’s what’s happening. You pay them to unlock your device through their Paypal account. The news told of this incident beginning in Australia. Now we hear the hackers are working in the States. http://www.forbes.com/sites/jasperhamill/2014/05/28/iphone-owners-warned-to-change-their-password-after-ios-hack/

Music services are springing up like weeds in a unmowed lawn. A study on the history of radio stations reveals that the popularity of listening to music with a device was more important to people than learning about news events, the weather, and certainly sports. Even though those other things had their importance – particularly the weather during hurricane season or the latest athlete to be signed to your favorite team. Radio stations first were given signal strengths big enough to reach across much of the U.S. because there were so few stations. Then when the numbers of stations began to grow, they were assigned smaller fields they could cover. All that said, radio was vital in its hay day. I was fortunate to be a part of it for a lot of years.

But something changed. The internet provided a way for people to get their news, weather and sports. It also provided the support to listen and download music. That’s where radio began to decline. The internet coupled with device makers made the new generation realize it could have the music for its own and listen to it anytime it wanted. Now, major players like Apple are buying Beats Music for an unheard of price of $3 billion. Google has it’s Google Music and YouTube is loaded with music videos. New to the ever crowding market? Amazon. Your Prime account for better shipping just got better. As a Prime member, you will have advantages in the new Amazon Music Service due to be launched this summer. http://techcrunch.com/2014/05/29/amazon-prime-music-streaming-service-pegged-for-summer-launch/

It’s that time again. Apple is holding a keynote on Monday. What’s special about that? Well, last keynote, they showed off the new iPad Air, the Retina iPad mini and the redesigned Mac Pro. So what can we look for in this presentation? Maybe they’ll show off the iWatch or a new iPhone. Whatever they show, you can bet a lot of people will be watching. http://mashable.com/2014/05/27/apple-teases-new-launches-with-livestream-announcement/?utm_campaign=Mash-Prod-RSS-Feedburner-All-Partial&utm_cid=Mash-Prod-RSS-Feedburner-All-Partial&utm_medium=feed&utm_source=rss

Finally, the internet is really, really big. I mean huge. How big? There is an infographic from Uberflip that gives you an idea. Entitled, “A Day on the Internet” this handy little guide helps us realize the extreme size of our connective cyber space. http://news360.com/article/241154477

Find additional articles of the Web this week in the Flipboard publication “WebLetter”, online at http://web.jimonline.com. And for the latest news for tablet owners, read all about it in iTab. http://iTab.jimonline.com

===HuMoR===
Since both his parents work a night shift, before my five-year-old grandson, Christian, started kindergarten, he was taught by his mother how to set his alarm clock, how to turn it off, then to wash, dress and go to the kitchen, where breakfast would be ready.
One morning, his parents were awakened when the school phoned to say Christian hadn’t arrived. They rushed to his room and found him sitting on his bed, fully dressed, watching TV.
“Why didn’t you wake me?” his mother asked.
“Why don’t you get an alarm clock, like me?” was his innocent reply.
(Thanks, Grace)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Here are the reasons I’d Like to thank Walmart, K-Mart, Target, and my local grocer for having 25 checkout lanes and only three open at any given time.

— Waiting in long lines keeps my domestic brain from going completely idle — there’s so much to learn!
– I can catch up on my magazine reading without buying any.
– I have time to leave my cart in line and run back to get the 13 things on my list I forgot.
– I can be one of those annoying cell phone users and catch up on all my phone calls to my insurance agent, mother-in-law, and Auntie Anne.
– I can catch a quick catnap now rather than on the drive home.
– I can assess what other people have in their carts and get exciting new dinner ideas.
– I can finally apply my top coat of nail polish with plenty of drying time.
– I can run next door and pick up my dry cleaning.
– I can update my coupon organizer and leave the trash in the we-never-open-enough-checkout-lanes store instead of my purse.
– I can practice my standup comedy routines on unsuspecting fellow customers.
– I can practice some standing yoga poses and then do those isometric muscle-contracting exercises no one else in line is supposed to know you’re doing.
– I can taste test my package of the newest low-carb, zero-transfat, Splenda-saturated cookies.
I can breathe heavily on my T-bones so they’re defrosted in time for dinner and I won’t have to leave them out on the driveway in the hot late afternoon sun as I normally do.
(Thanks, Kathy)
====================
Have a great weekend friends, and until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

