Jim’s WebLetter for 10/18/14

For additional stories and reviews, visit WebLetter, the Flipboard magazine of Jim’s WebLetter at http://web.jimonline.com

For tablet owners, iTab has stories and reviews for your mobile device. http://iTab.jimonline.com

Hi-ya friends!

Thursday, Apple had another show and tell event using such words as “powerful” and “magical” more times than anyone cares to hear in highlighting their new hardware coming out including the new iPad Air 2, iPad mini 3, and the new computer screens with higher resolution. I wish Tim Cook would stop using the same catch phrases every time he appears in these telecasts (“best selling ever” being the chief one). Make no mistake, technology does not work with magic and most powerful and best selling only lasts until the next version comes out.

Honestly, for me, I just wanted to see what they would do with the iPad and, I got an eyeful. This new model is thinner than the first iPad Air because of the latest technology enabling Apple to remove the air lock between glass and sensor board. They also added a faster A8x processor which allows the tablet to power bigger apps that require the faster processing. Two examples shown were a photo editor called Pixelmator and a video editor named Replay … Both available in the Apple store. And Apple makers added a new version of camera (still an 8 megapixel) for better photo and video shooting with iSight. Then they put a larger hard drive in for the same price (the $599 iPad now has a 64 gig hard drive – the first Air has 32). https://www.yahoo.com/tech/ipad-mini-ipad-air-imac-get-updated-at-apple-event-100173146269.html

Also reported, the new IOS 8.1 for iPhone and iPad is due to be released on Monday which should be the fix for all the bugginess plagued by the 8.0, 8.01 and 8.02 releases and offer some new features. http://bgr.com/2014/10/16/ios-8-1-release-date-announced/

As an overview, Rob LeFebvre of Cult of Mac filed this report highlighting the 12 biggest points of the Event. http://www.cultofmac.com/299876/11-things-need-know-todays-apple-event/

What else did I come across this week? A story about the most used program on a computer – the browser. When I think about how the browser has evolved over the years, whether because of the need for heightened security or the features that have been added to make it more user friendly, it was the principle apparatus I used when I began this WebLetter years ago – searching the Web for great sites it pass along to you. Since then, I have visited thousands of sites using no fewer than a dozen different browsers. If you’re a novice to using a computing system, or know someone who is, there was a nice story printed in care of the self proclaimed Digital Goddess, Kim Komando that appeared on the Fox News website entitled, “7 Things You Didn’t Know Your Web Browser Could Do” which might show everyone a trick or two. http://www.foxnews.com/tech/2014/10/11/7-things-didnt-know-your-web-browser-could-do/

Finally this week, what has become the thing to do on places like Facebook is to flashback to earlier times bringing out the nostalgia in us. The guys at Web Page FX have put together the highlights of the internet, then and now to give us a look at how far we’ve come. Keeping in mind there were lots if things that happened as the Web grew exponentially, I’m sure it’s easy to add more than what they provide here, but this article along with the info graphic makes this a great read. Enjoy! http://www.webpagefx.com/blog/internet/famous-internet-firsts-infographic/

===HuMoR===
As the lone female in our house, I find that certain male habits have really begun to get on my nerves. One day, I emerged from the bathroom completely exasperated when I bumped into my husband.
“What is it with guys that they won’t replace the toilet paper?!” I raged.
“I know,” he said, nodding in agreement. “I noticed that when I was in there earlier.”
(Thanks, Chris)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Several days ago as I left a meeting at a hotel. I desperately gave myself a personal TSA pat down — I was looking for my keys. They were not in my pockets. A quick search in the meeting room revealed nothing.
Suddenly I realized I must have left them in the car. Frantically, I headed for the parking lot. My wife has scolded me many times for leaving the keys in the ignition. My theory is the ignition is the best place not to lose them.
Her theory is that the car will be stolen. As I burst through the door, I came to a terrifying conclusion. Her theory was right. The parking lot was empty.
I immediately called the police. I gave them my location, confessed that I had left my keys in the car and that it had been stolen. Then I made the most difficult call of all,
“Honey,” I stammered — I always call her “honey” in times like these. “I left my keys in the car, and it has been stolen.”
There was a period of silence. I thought the call had been dropped, but then I heard her voice.
“Idiot”, she barked, “I dropped you off!”
Now it was my time to be silent.
Embarrassed, I said, “Well, come and get me.”
She retorted, “I will, as soon as I convince this cop I’m not driving a stolen car!”
(Thanks, Shirley)
====================
Well, that’s gonna do it this weekend. Going to the 18th Annual 8 Flags Car Show downtown today and look at some old beauties (cars, that is). Until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

Leave a Reply

