Jim’s WebLetter for 2/14/15

Hi-ya Folks!

Happy Valentines Day!  I hope you remembered to get something for your Valentine.
Here are a few things I discovered on the Web this week I think you’ll fall in love with …

Flipboard has made the decision to reach more people by going to the Web.  The news aggregate known for allowing you to flip pages when reading online stories (hence the name), has branched out.  Following the upgrade to Flipboard 2.0 and buying Zite, their primary competition last year, the reach now is to become the only destination for news, either by their app or Internet website.  Of course they made some changes to their appearance, but the new look makes news reading a bit nicer. http://www.cnet.com/news/flipboard-wants-to-be-your-news-destination/

This week I found a Web place that will take you back to your childhood and bring you up through your “wonder years” by playing the songs of your life and giving you dates of events during that time.  Called Retroj.am, it is, like the CNET story says, is a “trip down memory lane” … http://www.cnet.com/news/take-a-trip-down-memory-lane-with-retroj-am/

!! Happy birthday to YouTube.  Ten years old.  The story about the premier video provider and more in this week’s WebLetter magazine.  http://web.jimonline.com

This next story may be a throwback to some of you, but one of the most asked questions I get is, what’s the best antivirus software to use.  Rather than just coming right out and saying what I believe is the best, let me refer you to an article I found which is designed to help newbies as well as veterans of the computer field to find antivirus software best suited for your computer …
http://news360.com/article/277748569

Here’s an idea … why not have Google do a free security check of your account and get 2 Gigs of extra space in Google Drive, free?  I did and they upped my storage in the process.  What I was able to discover is, my account is clean and secure.  It only took a minute and I can use the extra storage for more documents, videos and photos.  http://www.cnet.com/news/how-to-get-2gb-free-on-google-drive/

Own a tablet computer?  Whether it’s an iPad, Android or Windows tab, you can get stories about it, what apps are more popular and more in each issue of iTab Magazine.  Give it a view at … http://iTab.jimonline.com

Last thing this week, up to now, most broadcasting (also known as webcasting) apps for phones and tablets are made the same way … You sign up for an account after downloading and installing the app, then you have to tell your friends to go sign up for an account to see what you’re videoing.  I have used a few over the years.  But now Hang w/ lets you broadcast video live for others to see without everyone becoming a member.  What’s more, the video you shoot is stored for others to see if they missed the live event.  I found this story in USA Today and thought you should see it, too.  http://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/2015/02/06/hang-w-app-for-broadcasting-live-video-easy/23022029/

===HuMoR===
Here’s an email going around … The subject is “Traveling in 2015 ”

I have been in many places, but I’ve never been in Kahoots.
Apparently, you can’t go alone. You have to be in Kahoots with someone.
I’ve also never been in Cognito. I hear no one recognizes you there.
I have, however, been in Sane. They don’t have an airport; you have to be driven there.
I have made several trips there, thanks to my children, friends, family and work.
I would like to go to Conclusions, but you have to jump, and I’m not too much on physical activity anymore.
I have also been in Doubt. That is a sad place to go, and I try not to visit there too often.
I’ve been in Flexible, but only when it was very important to stand firm.
Sometimes I’m in Capable, and I go there more often as I’m getting older.
One of my favorite places to be is in Suspense!
It really gets the adrenalin flowing and pumps up the old heart!
At my age I need all the stimuli I can get!
(Thanks, dad)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
On an icy, bitter-cold day, Hank visited Lou.
“I had a rough time getting here,” said Hank. “For every step forward, I slipped back two.”
“If you slid back two steps for every one you took forward, how’d you get here?” asked Lou.
“I almost didn’t. But then I said to myself, Forget it. So I turned around and started home.”
(Thanks, Rita)
====================
That this week’s WebLetter … and until next weekend, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

================================================
Jim’s WebLetter is a weekly email newsletter compiled and sent by Jim Swaringen, to subscribers who agree to receive the email.  All information received upon subscription is held private and will never be sold to another source.  To unsubscribe, simply send an email to jim@jimonline.com with the word UNSUBSCRIBE in the subject line.

Leave a Reply

