Jim’s WebLetter For 3/14/15

Hi-ya Web connected!

It’s another weekend of sites to see and Tech things to explore in this week’s WebLetter.

I just read a thought-provoking article from recode.net about the use of mobile gadgets while watching the TV.  Show of hands, how many of you use at least one mobile device while you’re watching your favorite show?  Yea, me too.  And what’s more, I record the vast majority of the shows I want to watch because I can skip through the commercials and get more valuable viewing time in.  But what about that internet connected device?  I am fortunate to have an assortment of small things including the iPad Air, the Nexus 7 (2nd Gen) and the LG G3 phone, the newest addition to my Web arsenal.  They all have their strengths but the iPad gives me more room to research and write, or read about things related to what I’m watching at the time.  

But getting back to the article I just finished … “Video Killed The Radio Star, Now What?”, http://recode.net/2015/03/12/video-killed-the-radio-star-now-what/ the idea of just using one medium for enjoyment has become old hat.  In terms of the different distribution platforms, the keys to entertainment are no longer in the hands of your cable provider … and your decision not to hook up to Comcast or Time Warner doesn’t even seem radical nowadays with all the cord cutting going on.  With so many products on the market, I can use my Chromecast and any of my devices and send videos or music through it to broadcast on TV.  Roku with Hulu or Netflix provides a means to watch what and when you want.

As the story says, video may have killed the radio star (a concept from the popular song of 1980 by the Buggles) but it may also kill cable TV and create a new form of viewing … Network shows ready for viewing whenever, or maybe Reality shows made by you and your next door neighbor.  Thanks to Ethan Kurzweil and Cecilia Stallsmith for writing the piece.

One of my favorite places to go online, and will likely be forever, is YouTube.  Whether for education or entertainment, it is THE video storehouse.  An article I discovered this week by Educators Technology is entitled, 8 Good YouTube Channels for Teachers.  The piece gives a brief synopsis of each of the areas to visit and includes places like The American Museum of Natural History and TED Talks.  Good stuff!  http://www.educatorstechnology.com/2015/03/8-good-youtube-channels-for-teachers.html

If you own an IOS device, you should have received an update … IOS 8.2.  I download and installed the system and haven’t noticed any problems since.  Some issues have been raise about battery life, but … What’s new?  At this point it looks like the update is doing fine.  And what was the new version for?  Fixing some bugs the previous version missed, and a patch for the FREAK vulnerability with secure sites.  http://news360.com/digestarticle/feqiL44apE6dKWU-8nI6UQ

Want to read more?  Visit WebLetter, the companion magazine at http://Web.jimonline.com
And if you own a Tablet, check out this week’s iTab Magazine … http://iTab.jimonline.com

===HuMoR===
The kindergarten teacher was standing outside her room as the children entered one morning. Along came little David, deliberately winking his left eye. 
“Why, David,” said the teacher, “Are you winking at me?” 
“No, just got my turn signal on,” David replied, making a neat left turn into his room.
(Thanks, Mary)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Early one Saturday morning, the flashing lights of a police car appeared in my rearview mirror. 
The officer asked, “Do you know why I pulled you over?” 
“No”, I responded. 
“One of your taillights is out.” he said. “I’m going to have to issue a warning. 
“Whew,” I said, without thinking. “I thought it was because my license had expired.”
(Thanks, Henry)
====================
That’s it for this weekend, friends and neighbors.  Have a great weekend and until next, may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web


Leave a Reply

