Jim’s WebLetter for 8/22/15

Read how you can make your iPad as your main computer, what improvements the new version of Google Photos has, and how 2-in-1 tablets are taking off. iTab Magazine at http://iTab.jimonline.com

Hi-ya Folks!

This week, let’s talk about security, computer myths, an iPad app great for taking notes, and a fun and cool website app that you’ll need a microphone for.

First, if you’ve spent any time reading about computer security, you realize it doesn’t matter what kind of computer or mobile operating system you use, if you’re connected to the Internet, you are at risk. And that risk extends to other internet connected devices like Smart TV’s and even Quadcopters. That’s right, you’re TV could be spying on you. But not as likely as say, your wireless router could be hacked and all your computing devices become subject to the people who enter them looking for your personal records. Now I have told you this in order for you to think about your set up. How secure is it? Here’s a quick read including tips to get secure. This is a bookmark page … http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/5-online-security-threats-need-tell-friends/

After a conversation I had this week where the party asked about leaving a computer on, as opposed to turning it off each night, I found a computer myths page from Make Use Of. This go-to website is always packed with information worth reading. Among the latest articles was one entitled, “Computer Myths You Need to Stop Believing”. As a prefix to the article, I want to remind us all that over the years computerization has changed ( mostly for the better ) and therefore ideas and beliefs once held years ago, are not valid today.  http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/10-common-computer-myths-you-need-to-stop-believing/

It’s not often I write about a app I discovered and use on my iPad because my time is taken working on the Web and not writing about it. But one thing I have been trying to find is an app I can use for writing notes that is flexible and easy to use. Something I can write and it saves it easily enough for future use. Whink has come about as close to what I’ve been looking for since I’ve owned an iPad. Sure, when you access the App Store, you’ll find a large number of note taking apps, but most seem to do the basics of writing and little more. With Whink, I have the choice of writing or typing, using colors, importing photos and saving the final into a PDF file in one of many cloud services. My preference is Google Drive. There is a free version and a premium version that offers the use of microphone for note taking. See what you think and let me know … http://appadvice.com/appnn/2015/08/trade-your-writing-pad-for-your-ipad-and-take-notes-in-whink

Last, there is a fun site that allows you to use your microphone to create animated Gif files. Don’t understand how to create one? Easy-peasy here. And it’s something you can share with your friends. Just be sure to use the Google Chrome browser when you access this link for Giftawk … http://thenextweb.com/apps/2015/08/19/a-true-gif-t/

===HuMoR===
When a patient was wheeled into the emergency room, the nurse on duty asked her, “On a scale of zero to ten with zero representing no pain and ten representing excruciating pain, what would you say your pain level is now?”
The patient shook her head. “Oh, I don’t know. I’m not good with math.”
(Thanks, Christie)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
It was one of the worst days of my life: The washing machine broke down, the telephone kept ringing, my head ached, and the mailman brought a bill I had no money to pay.
Almost to the breaking point, I lifted my one-year-old into his high chair, leaned my head against the tray, and began to cry.
Without a word, my son took his pacifier out of his mouth and stuck it in mine.
(Thanks, Mike)
====================
Have a great weekend and may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim
Jim’s WebLetter
Discover the best of the Web

