Jim’s WebLetter for 3-25-17

Hi-ya, Readers and friends!

This week, I had an occasion to use my Google Maps app on my phone to find a new client’s location when paying him a visit. Because Google’s Personal Assistant is now integrated into my Android phone, all I had to do is begin the conversation with “OK, Google” and what I wanted to find … directions to his store. A second later, the Google Map app popped up and showed my current location and drew the fastest direction to my new destination with the female voice telling me how to get there. As I drove, “she” gave me directions for turns in whatever direction and in so many feet or quarter mile. The final announcement came, “you’ve reached your destination on the left” about the same time I saw the sign in the parking lot.

I have to say that since I wrote about using Maps back in October, 2016, the app has gotten even smoother about offering directions while showing your current location on the highway, along with pitfalls like places under construction or traffic issues. But it made me realize I needed to report this in today’s issue of Jim’s WebLetter because there are a lot of helpful places online offering help for first-time users or novices who have installed it but rarely use it.

Tech Radar has a new article about one of the newest features … saving your parking spot. Imagine being in the city, finally finding a place to park, walking to several destinations, then trying to remember where you left the car. Let alone trying to find the most direct route back to it. Google shows you where your car is. http://www.techradar.com/news/google-maps-now-makes-sure-you-never-forget-where-you-parked

For a complete listing of features in this powerful Google app, click over to Lifehacker.com which has this article on making the most of Maps. My favorite is finding interesting places around you. This is a notification you can manage within the system as it anticipates where you might like to stop (places to eat, etc). But you can also store places you want to go once you’ve reached your destination. And for mileage counters and company drivers, view your history to prove the number of miles you drove, so you can report it on your taxes, or the company report. http://lifehacker.com/how-to-make-the-most-of-google-maps-1793442153

If you need a how-to on using the Maps program, there’s nothing like going to the source. Google support has an easy follow along here … https://support.google.com/maps/answer/144349?hl=en

Well, that’s it this week. As Roy Rogers used to sing at the end of his TV shows, “Happy trails to you, til we meet again”. Have a great weekend and may God bless you and keep you safe.

c-ya!
Jim

Jim’s WebLetter

Discover the best of the Web

